Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review TAU CROSS "Tau Cross"

Veröffentlicht am 24. Mai 2015 von Markus W. in Tau Cross, Voivod, Amebix, Alternative Metal, Heavy Metal, Punkrock, News, CD Review

(9/10) It easily could be that you haven't heard from Tau Cross so far. This needs to change - now. Tau Cross is a project combining band members from bands like Amebix and Voivod.

The album is simply called "Tau Cross". It is the result of a recording process that took several months and took place in three countries.

The longplayer is one of the coolest ones so far in 2015. What makes it so exciting is the mix of many different styles and musical backgrounds. Tau Cross puts those twelve musical bricks together in a way so that ot leads to a solid wall of sound - somewhere between punk, doom and metal

Characteristic for the sound of Tau Cross are the rough vocals from Rob Miller and the harsh guitar sound from Jon Misery and Andy Lefton. Not to forget the rhythm section (Miller/Langevin) that plays very tight and creates a stable foundation for each of the twelve tunes.

The numbers on "Tau Cross" vary a lot. There are the riff rockers like"You people" next to melancholic tunes like "The devil knows his own" and the punk-based pieces such as "Prison".

All in all Tau Cross delivered a debut that is comes with excellent music, an artwork that enriches the positive impression and an energy that is just intoxicating. A cool album that I can recommed very much.





  1. Lazarus
  2. Fire in the sky
  3. Stonecracker
  4. Midsummer
  5. Hangman's hyll
  6. We control the fear
  7. You people
  8. Prison
  9. Sons of the soul
  10. The lie
  11. Our day
  12. The devil knows his own


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Alternative Metal

CD review TAU CROSS "Tau Cross"