Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SOUL SECRET "4"

Veröffentlicht am 2. Mai 2015 von Markus W. in Soul Secret, Dream Theater, Prog Rock, Prog Metal, Heavy Metal, Rock, News, CD Review

(7/10) The story of Soul Secret started 2004 in Italy. The five-piece band was founded by guitarist Antonio Vittozzi and bassist Lucio Grilli. In the meantime only Vittozzi plus drummer Antonio Mocerino that are still a part of the band. For the rest Soul Secret had to suffer from some line-up changes over the years. Nowadays the line-up is more stable again which made it possible to record a new album. "4" is, what a surprise, the fourth album of the Napoli-based band that found there passion in progressiv metal.

The fact that the group toured with bands like Vanden Plas and Subsignal gives an idea about the music of the five guys. "4" contains more complex metal tunes that reminded me to Dream Theater all time long. The way how the songs are written, the guitar sound and also the vocals by Lino Di Pietrantonio show some parallels with the iconic prog band from New York. Sometimes the paralles are in my opinion a bit too much.

But let's forget Dream Theater for a minute. In this case Soul Secret would be a quite interesting band. The musical capabilities of the musicians is on a pretty high level and the songs they wrote have the right mix between complexity, variety and melody. Soul Secret doesn't get lost in their own songs. The never forget the listener, that also wants to follow, even without being a studied musician. 

The highlight of the album is the 16 minutes long closer "The white stairs" that sounds like a melange of many different elements that fit together very well. The epos still stands like one rock. Jazz-parts go hand in hand with heavy guitars, followed by great melody lines and rocking riffs. And the spoken words section is a well perceived break too. All in one song.

So far so good. But there is no world without Dream Theater. And this is the disadvantage of the album. Soul Secret are excellent musicians but there are already bands that lead this metal segment. But based on the musical capabilities I'm not afraid about the band finding their spot and their unique characteristic. For sure a band that is worth to follow.





  1. On the ledge
  2. Our horizon
  3. K
  4. As I close my eyes
  5. Traces on the seaside
  6. Turning the back page
  7. Silence
  8. In a frame
  9. My moonlight
  10. Downfall
  11. The white stairs


Label: Golden Core

Genre: Prog Metal

CD review SOUL SECRET "4"