Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SATANS WRATH "Die evil"

Veröffentlicht am 4. Mai 2015 von Markus W. in Satan's Wrath, Thrash Metal, Speed Metal, Death Metal, Heavy Metal, News, CD Review, Slayer

(7/10) I had a few times a flash back to Slayer's first two record when I was listening to "Die evil". Especially some of the howling guitars are inspirend by the thrash legend. But Satan's Wrath has enough own identity to not become a copycat. And the guys prove that the best thrash metal is written when you're pissed-off. And it seems they are. This is the vibe that is transfered with "Die evil" and it sounds authentic.

A thing that stands out first is the fact that the new tunes are shorter than the ones on the predecessor "Aeons of satan reign". Two to three minutes, that what you get on the new longplayer. Epical anthems like the title track from the last release haven't got any space on the new album.

Already this is a clear sign that Satan's Wrath gave focus to the basics. No unnecessary ballast, just pure metal. And this thrash- / speed metal mix works very well. The nine songs carry you off from the first note. It is this unleashed energy that characterise the album.

My personal highlight on "Die evil" is the title track; a song that is rightly chosen to be the name giver for this disc. Slayer meets Venom in this track and the screaming guitars are mind-blowing.

Only the sound could be a bit better. The album feels quite basic which takes away in some way the power of the tunes. The sonic inferno could have been more intense with a more advanced sound.

However, on the other hand this adds more to the undergound feeling of "Die evil". Another good release from the Greece guys that fits excellent into their discography. Fans of the band will not be diappointed.





  1. Raised on Sabbaths
  2. Satanic war
  3. Diabolic shudder
  4. Die evil
  5. Coffinlust
  6. Dead of the shallow graves
  7. At the strike of twelve
  8. A mindless servant of satan
  9. Castle of torment


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Thrash Metal


CD review SATANS WRATH "Die evil"