Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SHINING "IX - Everyone, everything, everywhere, ends"

Veröffentlicht am 20. April 2015 von Markus W. in Shining, Black Metal, Avangarde, Rock, Prog Rock, News, CD Review, Jazz

(9/10) This album would fit better into autumn and winter instead of spring that is re-vitalizing everything. Shining stands for black metal that is located somewhere between genius and insanity. Also the ninth record "IX - Everyone, everything, everywhere, ends" doesn't change this branding.

The music of Shining seems to be one of the right channels for musical mastermind Nikals Kvarforth to deal with his inner demons. The sound o Kvarforth and band mates is more than only black metal. It is a melting pot of many different influences which are embedded in a black metal corset. The music is in some parts very progressive, has some jazz elements and is in its totality an intense emotional journey into the abyss of souls.

The album starts with an instrumental, which is in bigger partsquite relaxed with some moments of Mekong Delta. That shows already the complexity of some Shining songs. "Vilja & döm" is the total opposite. It is a raging black metal tune and pure sonic desperation. A tune that is pitch black.

"Framtidsutsikter" instead is more a kind of acoustic prog rock song that is closer to ambient rock than to black metal. It is beautiful sadness performed in notes. The journey continues with the complex "Människotankens vägglösa rum ", a tune with many twists and turns. From melodic guitar solo parts up to boisterous black metal outbursts the song provides a lot of surprises.

"Inga broar kvar att bränna" is characterized by the laments of Kvarforth accompanied by melodic guitars before "Besök från I(ho)nom", with its eight minutes closes another chapter of Shining. 

"IX - Everyone, everything, everywhere, ends" is a hard to diguest emotional journey into the dark side of mankind. It is full of pain, lament, despair and moaning. On the other hand it is very interesting from an diversity stand point. Music that has a unique brandmark. If you dare to go for this record you will be rewarded with an exciting emotional rollercoaster that makes you enjoying the summer sun afterwards even more.





  1. Den påtvingade tvåsamheten
  2. Vilja & döm
  3. Framtidsutsikter
  4. Mäniskotankens vägglösa rum
  5. Inga broas kvar att bränna
  6. Besök från I(ho)nom


Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Black Metal

CD review SHINING "IX - Everyone, everything, everywhere, ends"