Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ROYAL THUNDER "Crooked doors"

Veröffentlicht am 4. April 2015 von Markus W. in Royal Thunder, Classic Rock, Rock, Alternative Metal, Sludge, News, CD Review

(8/10) There are more and more female fronted bands that are going into an intense retro direction. Bands like Spider but also Ruby The Hatchet have released excellent records in the last months and Royal Thunder from Atlanta, Georgia continues this approach.

Singer Miny Parsonz (v,b) with her powerful voice builds the centre of Royal Thunders sound. She has a pretty wide range from more soulful parts up to energetic screams that are transporting a lot of passion. Actually the opener "Time machine" is a pretty good example here for.

The trip continues with the slower, almost doom-like "Forget you". This is again big stuff with some harsh riffs and a hypnotic beat of drummer Lee Smith.

"Wake up" shows the band from the more silent side before the tune builds up to a solid rocker. Via the elegant swinging "Floor" you get to "The line"; a song that sounds quite dark and reminded me to Marilyn Manson in some sections.

"Forgive me, Karma" is another more creepy track that has some unusual melody lines. A second-sight beauty.

"Glow" is a solid rock song before you meet songs like "Ear on the fool" and "One day". Those a solid pieces too but I have the feeling that they can't live up to the opening triple.

What is cool stuff is the double play "The bear I" and "The bear II". The first one is a desperate number that reminds to Janis Joplin while the second part is a soulful piano-based song that transports a lot of feelings. Close your eyes and enjoy the beauty.

"Crooked doors" is rounded off by some inspiring artwork that goes very much hand in hand with the music.

Royal Thunder created a great album that should be checked by fans of classic rock. An unexpected highlight.





  1. Time machine
  2. Forget you
  3. Wake up
  4. Floor
  5. The line
  6. Forgive me, Karma
  7. Glow
  8. Ear on the fool
  9. One day
  10. The bear I
  11. The bear II


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Classic Rock


CD review ROYAL THUNDER "Crooked doors"