Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review FM "Heroes and villains"

Veröffentlicht am 16. April 2015 von Markus W. in FM, Hardrock, Rock, Classic Rock, AOR, News, CD Review

(7/10) I can remember when I heard FM's "Tough it out" in 1989 (OMG; I'm getting older). It was a time when UK bands like Gun and Shy have pushed British AOR to a small peak before grunge took and marked the end of this era. FM belonged to this group of bands as well - having had their peak and disbanded in 1997. The reunion too place in 2007, followed by new records.

To be honest I lost a bit sight of the band after "Takin' it to the street". The more I was surprised when I heard "Digging up the dirt" - the first published song from "Heroes and villains". This song rock very hard. This isn't the AOR I was used to from FM. This is much better. It almost feels like the band felt into a fountain of youth. And there are a few more songs on "Heroes and villians" that follows the same pattern. "Big brother" is one of those and sounds a bit like Magnum. Not a bad cross reference, I think. Another track that is worth a note is "Somedays I only wanna rock and roll" - a grooving rocker that gives the impression that FM have listened a bit too much to Great White records. All this tunes sound great but aren't the FM typical AOR at all. Actually I think this fits to the band much better, since they have more heart and soul.

However, there are the more well-known FM sounds too. "You're the best thing about me" is one of those and also "Call on me" is belonging to this group. But if I have to compare those numbers with the before mentioned ones I must say that they sound nice, but not cool. 

"Heroes and villians" is a longplayer that is over long distance fresh and rocking. The band has reinvented themselves in certain parts and the result is an excellent summer soundtrack.





  1. Digging up the dirt
  2. You're the best thing about me
  3. Life is a highway
  4. Fire and rain
  5. Incredible
  6. Call on me
  7. Cold hearted
  8. Shape I'm n
  9. Big brother
  10. Somedays I only wanna rock and roll
  11. I want you
  12. Walking with agels


Label: Frontiers Records

Genre: Hardrock

CD review FM "Heroes and villains"