Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DARKHOUSE "Providence" EP

Veröffentlicht am 18. April 2015 von Markus W. in Darkhaus, Pro-Pain, Electro, Heavy Metal, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Darkhaus is fairly new. They are around since 2013 and combine heavy guitars with electro beats.  

Even though the band is new the musicians aren't rookies at all. The mainman behind the band is Rupert Keplinger who worked already with Eisbrecher, Peter Maffey and some more. During his work he built up a contact with Pro-Pain mastermind Gary Meskil. Yes, the Gary Meskil. Both together started Darkhaus. Ken Hanlon, Marshall Stevens (also Pro-Pain) and Paul Keller complete the line-up of Darkhaus. The combination of these musicians sound already like an explosive mix of style and backgrounds. And it is.

The band published already their debut "My only shelter" and in these days the five-piece adds a new EP to their discography. "Providence" is the name of the album that comes with four songs plus one live recording and an acosutic track.

I must say that the sound of Darkhaus isn't that new, but what they are doing they are doing right. They have a good sense for catchy melodies that never gets too sticky. "The fire within" shows this very well. The guitars never get too far into the back while the samples are supportive without taking over. "Side effect of love" is an excellent groove rocker before the title track "Providence" reflects the whole bandwidth of the Darkhaus. Build on a brilliant melody and spiced up with a heavy guitar riff the song is the best one on the EP. 

"Throwing away" instead reflects the silent side of the band. It's another good song with kind of "Staiways to heaven" vibe, but the first three tunes are better.

The last two tracks is a live records from Cologne,"Drive", and the acoustic version of "Life worth living". Both tunes are a good add-on for the EP.

"Providence" is an interesting musical melting pot. Check it out. It is worth it.





  1. The fire within
  2. Side effect of love
  3. Providence
  4. Throwing away
  5. Drive (Live in Cologne)
  6. Life worth living (Orig. acoustic version)


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Electro-Metal


CD review DARKHOUSE "Providence" EP