Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review TONY MILLS "Over my dead body"

Veröffentlicht am 23. März 2015 von Markus W. in Tony Mills, Queensryche, TNT, Shy, Hardrock, Heavy Metal, Melodic Metal, News, CD Review, W.E.T.

(8/10) Tony Mills got the first bigger attention as being part of the British AOR band Shy. But the musical history of the singer from Solihull, UK covers much more. He was part of TNT as well as of bands like Serpentine and China Blue. He also released a few solo albums of which the newest one was published a few days ago. "Over my dead body" is the name of the longplayer that was triggered by Mills' heart attack in 2010.

Mills gathered together some excellent musicians. Guys like Paul Sabu supported him on the album together with Robert Sall (W.E.T.) and many more. And he could win Neil Kernon for the mixing.

So, what's to report about the songs? I have to say that I was doubting if I put the new album from Tony Mills into the CD player. I was thinking more about Queensryche or Goeff Tate. But it couldn't be Queensryche and the songs have been far too good for a Geoff Tate album. However, I wasn't aware that Tony Mills sounds that much like Tate in his earlier Queensryche days. If you want to find out what I mean you should listen to tracks like the opener "Time won't wait" and "No love lost". Especially the last mentioned one with the samples comes close to the "Operation mindcrime" times. 

A song that gets under the skin is "My death". It's a slower tune that reflects the title very well. It is a sonic version of the fight between life and death - a mix between desperation and hope. Something Mills went through by having an heart attack at the Oslo airport in 2010. 

"My death" is also a turning point on the album. "Over my dead body" has a menacing vibe in the first half that builds up and has its climax in "My death". From this moment on it seems that the dark clouds slowly disappear and the songs get more positive. Tracks like "Somewhere in London" are great hardrock songs that have a strong AOR touch. And "Free spirits" is an almost swinging tune that reminds to Queen in some parts.

Tony Mills offers his fans an album with a lot of different shades of melodic metal. It is an emotional journey through 10 great tunes based on real life. 

Fans from Queensryche will like this album. And the same goes for fans of well-crafted melodic rock/metal performed by a great singer. Thumbs up.





  1. Time won't wait
  2. 28 flights
  3. We should be on by now
  4. No love lost
  5. Gate 21
  6. My death
  7. Bitter suite
  8. Northern star
  9. 4 in the morning
  10. Somewhere in London
  11. Free spirit


Label: Battlegod Productions

Genre: Melodic Metal

CD review TONY MILLS "Over my dead body"