Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


Veröffentlicht am 4. März 2015 von Markus W. in The Jury And The Saints, Rock, Alternative Metal, CD Review, News, Punkrock, Hardrock

(7/10) Rock music from New Zealand isn't what you get to hear so often. But this doesn't mean that there are no cool bands on the other side of the earth.

The Jury And The Saints is one of those groups that plays good rock music, but isn't very well known in Europe. The four-piece band calls their music 'stadion rock', at least when we have a look on their Facebook side.

If it's stadion music or not - I don't know. But they play energetic rock music, with a certain punk influence. I would say that they are a mix of Blink 182 and Rise Against. The music is powerful and has a good punch. On the other hand melodies are always a crucial part in each of the songs. This combination makes the sound of The Jury And The Saints very attractive.

Tracks like "Start moving" and "Fever" build a dynamic opening package before "Monday morning" shows another side of the band. A simple guitar line and vocals only start the track that stays very relaxed in the first half before it becomes louder along the way.

A piece with a great groove is "Knocking on the devils door". This song has the potential to become a smaller hit for the band. The catchy melody and the hook is attractive and the song's made for a bigger audience without being too much mainstream.

The second half of the album can easily keep the quality of the first 5-6 songs. There are some repetative moments, yes, but all in all the album doesn't come with any filler.

I like The Jury And The Saints and I'm not surprised that the band celebrates some successes in their home country. If this enough to also get more popular in the rest of the world is something time will tell. Their new self-titled album is at least a good start into a positive future.





  1. Start moving
  2. Fever
  3. Focus
  4. Monday morning
  5. Freedom fighter
  6. Knocking on the devil's door
  7. City lights
  8. Bust in the radio
  9. Last time
  10. Brand new
  11. Last mistake
  12. Make our mark


Label: Longbrach Records / SPV

Genre: Punkrock