Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MAMMOTH MAMMOTH "Volume IV - Hammered again"

Veröffentlicht am 14. März 2015 von Markus W. in Mammoth Mammoth, Stoner Rock, Hardrock, Rock, Punkrock, AC-DC, Airbourne, News, CD Review

(8/10) If Airbourne is the little brother of AC/DC than Mammoth Mammoth is the MEAN little brother of the famous band from Down Under.

I have to admit that I like the sound of the band from Melbourne, Australia. They don't play innovative and/or complex music. They just do what they can do best. This is writing and playing straight-forward rock'n'roll and by doing this they prove that you can make excellent music with just a few chords. The sound of Mammoth Mammoth is nothing for your brain. This music that goes directly into veins.

Positioned somewehere between AC/DC and Motorhead the band delivers ten songs on the newest album that could be the perfect soundtrack of your next party. And actually having seen them live in Rotterdam a few month ago I also have to say that their shows are more a kind of party than a concert.

Regardless is it's the uncompromissing "Reign supreme", the grooving "Black dog" or the stoner-like "Electric sunshine"; Mammoth Mammoth delivers - and this in a good quality.

But also the start and the end of the fourth album are worth to be mentioned. "Life's a bitch" is a fast rocker that doesn't take any prisoners. And the chorus couldn't be better - "Life's a bitch and then you die".

The counterpart to this high speed opener is the closer. "High as a kite" starts with waves and downtuned guitar. It's a very relaxed beginning. The track also stays in a slow pace and sits somewhere between doom and stoner. It's a nine minutes long song is also more the exception than the rule when it comes to the Australian four-piece. But it sounds good and Mammoth Mammoth can keep the tension on a high level. I just wonder why the songs needs to fades-out.

"Volume IV - Hammered again" is an album that makes fun to listen to from the first to the last song. Music for having a good time.





  1. Life's a bitch
  2. Lookin' down the barrel
  3. Electric sunshine
  4. Fuel injected
  5. Black dog
  6. Promised land
  7. Reign supreme
  8. Sick (of being sick)
  9. Hammered again
  10. High as a kite


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Hardrock

CD review MAMMOTH MAMMOTH "Volume IV - Hammered again"