Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review UFO "A conspiracy of stars"

Veröffentlicht am 21. Februar 2015 von Markus W. in UFO, Vinnie Moore, Classic Rock, Rock, Hardrock, News, CD Review

(8/10) Classic rock dinausors UFO are back with a new album. After 22 records and 45 years in business I don't think that the band.

Phil Mogg and his band mates recorded their new record in England. This isn't a too big thing, but it is the first time in more than 20 years that they have chosen for such a set-up. The production and the mix was done by Chris Tsangarides who gave the album a warm and strong sound. So, all preconditions have been in place for "A conspiracy of stars" - the name of the new record.

The album reflects all the trademarks from UFO. The longplayer comes with ten songs (+ one bonus track) that are classic rock, performed with passion and dedication. The sound is a bit modernized but you still get 100% of UFO. What I think is a big benefit with this line-up today is the mix of old and younger. There are the pioneers that have UFO almost in their veins. Mogg, Raymond and Parker can look back on decades with the band. On the other hand there is guitarist Vinnie Moore (who joined in 2003) and bass player Rob de Luca that brought a fresh musical breeze into the band.

When it comes to the songs there are some highlights which are worth to be mentioned. The opener "The killing kind" is one of those tracks. It starts with a great guitar that brings you immediately into smooth rock mood. The tune has an esxcellent hookline and is a typical UFO track. Followed by the rocking "Run boy run" the start couldn't be much better.

A song I personally like is the bluesy "Sugar cane" with a gentle guitar and a strong groove. And "Precious cargo" is standing out with e strong organ sound that partly to Great White and the earlier Whitesnake. The song has a very cool and releaxed vibe by still being powerful in the bridge and the chorus.

Those are my favorites on the album, but the other tracks can easily live up to the same quality level.

UFO's new album "A conspiracy of stars" is very entertaining. It is a solid classic rock album from an established band that don't have to prove anything. An album for old and new fans of the band.





  1. The killing kind
  2. Run boy run
  3. Ballad of the left hand gun
  4. Sugar cane
  5. Devil's in the detail
  6. Precious cargo
  7. The real deal
  8. One and only
  9. Messiah love
  10. Rolling rolling
  11. King of the hill (Bonus)


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Classic Rock

CD review UFO "A conspiracy of stars"