Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ECLIPSE "Armageddonized"

Veröffentlicht am 21. Februar 2015 von Markus W. in Eclipse, W.E.T., Hardrock, Melodic Metal, Rock, Classic Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) That Sweden rocks is something we don't know only from the huge festival with the same name. There are a lot of well-known rock and metal bands coming from the country up in the North.

The vital scene in the country with the 'Tre Kronor' was the starting base for bands in all genres of rock and metal. When it comes to melodic metal the Stockholm connection is a quite strong one. Bands like W.E.T. and Work Of Art are based in the Swedish capitol and also Eclipse call the city their hometown.

Therefore it is not a big surprise that musicians are also busy in more than only one of these bands. In this case it is Eric Martensson and Magnus Henriksson that are the main drivers behind Eclipse. Starting in the late 90's the band released four records which gave them a solid position in melodic metal.

The new album, number five, is called "Armageddonize" and is released via Frontiers Records. Since esp. Martensson was also busy with bands like W.E.T. and also Henriksson was involved in many projects it took Eclipse 3 years to release the new disc. But being involved in the mentioned other bands/projects had also the effect of getting even more experience which was benefitial for "Armageddonize" too.

The result is an eleven songs long record that presents strong and powerful melodic hardrock, build on catchy melodies and heavy guitars. "Armageddonize" is entertaining from the first note to the last one. Eclipse makes use of all components of melodic rock by avoiding the pitfall of getting too soft and too catchy. The crunchy guitars always bring back the hardness right at the moment you think it becomes too much mainstream.

I like the album and I can recommend it to all melodic metal fans, esp. the ones from the above mentioned bands.





  1. I don't wanna say I'm sorry
  2. Stand on your feet
  3. The storm
  4. Blood enemies
  5. Wide open
  6. Live like I'm dying
  7. Breakdown
  8. Love bites
  9. Caught up in the rush
  10. One life - my life
  11. All died young


Label: Frontiers Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

CD review ECLIPSE "Armageddonized"