Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review GAMMA RAY "The best of Gamma Ray"

Veröffentlicht am 25. Januar 2015 von Markus W. in Gamma Ray, Heavy Metal, Speed Metal, Thrash Metal, CD Review, News, Unisonic, Helloween, Rock

(*/10) It’s always a good signal if a band is many many years in business. And it’s also a good thing to celebrate certain anniversaries. German metal enthusiasts from Gamma Ray are around since 25 years and it feels like yesterday when I heard their debut “Heading for tomorrow”.

As being a Helloween fan from the early days it was a sad moment when the announcement was revealed that Kai Hansen will leave the band. But the tears dried quite fast when I heard the first songs from the guitar maniac from Hamburg which he released together with his new band Gamma Ray. The debut “Heading for tomorrow” was and is still a masterpiece of metal; enriched by the vocals of Ralf Scheepers (Primal Fear) in those early days.

To celebrate the bands 25th anniversary Gamma Ray will release a “Best off…” album that contains 25 songs. All of them are hand-picked by Kai Hansen and reflect all eras of the band.  The first single “Heaven can wait” is on the album as well as the Priest-like “Hellbent” from the 2014 release “Empire of the undead”.

There are not that many extras coming with the album. All songs have been re-mastered by Eike Freese and Hansen added some liner notes too. That’s it.

But you can look forward to some bonus material and extensive booklets, since all Gamma Ray records will be re-released during 2015 containing the mentioned benefits. So it will be a lot of Gamma Ray during the year.

However, the “Best of…” album gives value for money and is a great retrospective on the discography of the Hamburger Jungs. And IF someone doesn’t know the band so far, it is a great first touchpoint with the four-piece group.

25 years Gamma Ray, 25 songs, endless metal.





CD 1:

  1. Armageddon
  2. Heaven can wait
  3. Hellbent
  4. Dream healer
  5. Land of the free
  6. To the metal
  7. Somewhere out in space
  8. Real world
  9. Induction
  10. Dethrone tyranny
  11. Rebellion
  12. Heading for tomorrow

CD 2:

  1. Eagle
  2. Avalon
  3. Man on a mission
  4. The spirit
  5. Tribute to the past
  6. Empathy\
  7. Valley of the kings
  8. Lust for life
  9. Master of confusion
  10. Blood religion
  11. Time to break free
  12. Insurrection
  13. Send me a sign


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Heavy Metal

CD review GAMMA RAY "The best of Gamma Ray"