Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SOULBURN "The suffocating madness"

Veröffentlicht am 21. Dezember 2014 von Markus W. in Soulburn, Asphyx, Thrash Metal, Death Metal, Black Metal, Heavy Metal, CD Review, News

(8/10) Sometimes things are happening that you don't expect. The new Soulburn longplayer "The suffocating darkness" is one of those surprises. Soulburn rose from the ashes of Dutch metal legend Asphyx which disbanded in 1995.

Eric Daniels (g) and Bob Bagchus (d) started Soulburn around that time and released the debut album "Feeding on angels" in 1998. The revitalisation of Ashpyx around 2000 seemed to mark the end of Soulburn. But never say never.

In 2013 the first signs of live rose again. Bagchus and Daniels started to write new songs and all of a sudden making a new album became realistic. The final result is now avaiable. The new disc is called "The suffocating darkness" and contains nine songs plus an intro and an outro. Soulburn continues where they stopped in the beginning of this decade. It is their way combining black metal with thrash- and death metal elements that makes the music slightly different from other black metal bands. Bands like Celtic Frost and Bathory have been a source of inspiration for the sound of Soulburn. The 'product' is a brute sound that still has a lot of diversity. Soulburn never runs into the trap of repeating themselfs too often. Eventhough they have their trademarks and patterns, they have enough variation in their songs to make them thrilling from beginning to end.

The idea with the intro and the outro works very well. It feels like front credits and end credits in a movie. Inbetween you will nine aggressive songs that spread a black-hearted vibe which could be easily the soundtrack for a horror film.

The journey through an exciting metal album starts with "Under the rise of a red moon". It's a midtmpo track with almost hypnotic vocal lines. Already the opener contains some spoken words samples that emphasis the creepy vibe of the song. "The mirror void" is kept a bit slower, eventhough it has intelligent breaks that creates a raging middle part. "Absinthesis" is a remarkable track too. Starting slower it builds up to a black metal speed train after a while. As in the opener spoken words and 'moaning voice samples' are coming back throughtout the entire album as a kind of red threat. "I do not bleed from your crown of thorns" is a good example for this. The lamentation in the midlle part fits perfect into the song structure and stresses the mean expression of the song.

"The suffocating darkness" marks the return of a band that hopefully planned to stay. Soulburn is one of the bands proving  that (some) reunions make sense. And they interpret black metal slightly differnt and give this genre another perspective. Welcome back guys.





  1. Apotheosis infernali (Inro)
  2. Under the rise of a red moon
  3. The mirror void
  4. In suffocating darkness
  5. Absinthesis
  6. Hymn of the forsaken II
  7. Black aura
  8. I do not bleed from the crown of thorns
  9. Wielding death
  10. Claws of tribulation
  11. Eden's last sigh (Outro)


Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

CD review SOULBURN "The suffocating madness"