Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MESSIAH'S KISS "Get your bulls out!"

Veröffentlicht am 9. Dezember 2014 von Markus W. in Messiah's Kiss, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, Hardrock, CD Review, News

(7/10) Messiah's Kiss is thirteen years around but it honestly feels like they would have been part of metal already much longer. Maybe it is due to the fact that the latest album was released seven years ago. I don't know. However, after some strokes of fate the band is back and the fourth record has been published a few days ago. And it feels like music from a band still being hungry.

"Get your bulls out" is the name of the new disc and it contains sixteen songs. Actually it is fourteen tracks with an addition acoustic version of "Only murderes kill time" and "It's no good" as part of the digipack.

The music on the new album didn't change a lot. Messiah's Kiss still playes powerful heavy metal with some tweak excurions into hardrock. I had the feeling the difficulties in the last years with sickness and so one gave the band even more power. The new album comes with a real 'now or never' approach.

The tracks on the disc are without frills and straight to the point. Songs like the opener "Living in paradise" and the fast rocker "Immortal memeory" are well crafted metal songs. The same goes for "Time to say goodbye" that comes with a Maiden-like guitarline.

And last but not least "Only murderers kill time" - a song that is in an electric version on the longplayer and additionally as an acoustic version on the digipack. I personally thing that the unplugged arrangement is even better than the original song.

The little downer on the album is the sound. For me the bass, actually the entire rhythm section, is too much in the forefront, while the guitars are too far in the back. This might lead to an enormous groove but makes the sound also a bit dull.

But this is the only real point of critic. Songs are good and cover artwork fits. Messiah's Kiss delivers true German metal and I would like to say: welcome back guys.





  1. Living in paradise
  2. Immortal memory
  3. Rescue anyone? Rescue me!
  4. Survivor (Take a ride on my heels)
  5. Time to say goodbye
  6. Only murderers kill time
  7. Fuel for life
  8. Mission to kill
  9. Symphony of sin
  10. Nobody knows your name
  11. Who's the first to die
  12. Whisper a prayer
  13. Without forgiveness
  14. Buried alive
  15. Only murderers kill time (acoustic)
  16. It's no good


Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

CD review MESSIAH'S KISS "Get your bulls out!"