Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review INLEGEND "Stones at Goliath"

Veröffentlicht am 25. Dezember 2014 von Markus W. in Inlegend, Rock, Hardrock, Prog Rock, Alternative Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) Inlegend creates rock music without guitars. Is this possible? Yes, it is. The band, that opened a few shows for Van Canto, consists only out of vocals, keyboards, piano, bass and drums. This is a very brave setup, but I must say that it works pretty well.

"Stones of Goliath" is the second album of the band and has fourteen tracks. Since there are no guitars on the album the piano and the vocal lines play an even more important role than normal. And to my surrise the tunes really rock. Inlegend handles this challenge really well; also based on a quite hard piano sound. Bandleader Bastian Emig named this style the 'hand hammered piano craft'.

Emig, who is influenced by many different music styles, has a great feeling for big melodies. Actually it doesn't matter which song you choose, they all live up to a certain level. But there are also doubtless some irresistable highlights. "Threatened" is one of those. It is a bit faster than most of the other songs and is build on great vocals and a chorus that is catchy and sticks immediately. Another track that shines a bit brighter is "Empire of concrete". It is a bit slower and relaxed than the before mentioned ones. Esp. in the verse it is very soulful while the chorus is more powerful. It's the way Inlegend plays with silent and loud in this track that makes it exciting. And the choral passages towards the end also add some goose bump feeling to it.

A song that stands out is "The voodoo girl". It is a dark and very slow song that transports a lot of emotions. It is the most intensive track on the album. 

And partly I also was reminded to the earlier Asia like when I heard "Alienation" for the first time.

"Stones at Goliath" is an experimental rock album from a band that has a great sense for melodies and hooklines. For all fans of rock music a must - at least give it a try.





  1. Envoys of peace
  2. Threatened
  3. Lonely
  4. King of apathy
  5. Empire of cpncrete
  6. Monuments of eternity
  7. The new hotizons
  8. The voodoo girl
  9. Choices in coma
  10. Empty in place
  11. Alienation
  12. A 1000 paper cranes
  13. On the morrow
  14. Another me


Label: Eat The Beat Music

Genre: Rock

CD review INLEGEND "Stones at Goliath"