Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review FOREIGNER "The best of Foreigner 4 & more"

Veröffentlicht am 6. Dezember 2014 von Markus W. in Foreigner, Hardrock, Rock, CD Review, News

(8/10) Normally I'm not very enthusiastic if around Christmas a new 'Best of...' album gets released. In this introduction to the review you can sense already that it is slightly different with this one.

Hardrock dinosaurs Foreigner published one of those 'Best of...'s in a 'live dress' that really adds some value. This might be a very personal thing this time. It was in the beginning of the 80's when the band released with "4" one of their best albums ever. It had the right mix between heavyness and melodies. All the songs have been real highlights and it was one of the soundtracks of my youth. Therefore I was very happy when I have seen the first announcement of this album.

This killer album was followed by the more commercial but also very successful "Agent provocateur" which contained some hits too - like the global No.1 hit "I want to know what love is".

The new record doesn't only include the old hits of a fabulous band. It's more than just that. The songs have been performed live in October 2014 in the Borgata Hotel in Atlantic City, New Jersey. It was the first time that the band presented the "The best of Foreigner 4 & more". That means that the songs sound more modern this time and the line up of founder Mick Jones (g), Kelly Hansen (v), Jeff Pilson (b), Tom Gimbel (flute and rhythm guitar), Michaek Bluestein (keys), Chris Frazier (d) and Bruce Watson (g) made the song shine again on the live album.

So it's really worth to check out this album. It makes a lot of fun to listen to, contains the best songs of the band (not only from the "4" album) and is a new vital recording. And for me it was a journey back in time which I also appreciated, since a lot of memories came up again. Good stuff





  1. Night life
  2. Woman in black
  3. Urgent
  4. Waiting for a girl like you
  5. Break it up
  6. Girl on the moon
  7. Say you will
  8. Feel like the first time
  9. Cold as ice
  10. Hot blooded
  11. I want to know what love is
  12. Jukebox hero


Label: Frontiers Records

Genre: Hardrock

CD review FOREIGNER "The best of Foreigner 4 & more"