Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review CRETIN "Stranger"

Veröffentlicht am 12. Dezember 2014 von Markus W. in Cretin, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Grindcore, CD Review, News, Hardcore

(8/10) That the songs on this record do not have an epical length goes without saying. Cretin's pedal hits the metal. "Stranger", the new album, comes with fourteen tracks which are stylewise somewhere between death metal and grindcore. 

Now I must admit that grindcore isn't my very preferred style, but in this combination I like a lot what I hear. Cretin plays very fast but there is enough space in their music for a decent groove.

But let's start from the beginning. Cretin is a band coming from San Jose, California and they started already in 1992. But the four-piece disbanded in 1996 and it took five years for them to find together again.

From this moment on the band started to release relevant demo tapes and EP's before the debut album was published in 2006. "Stranger" is the second longplayer von Cretin. The current line-up consists out of Matt Widner (b) and Marissa Martinez (v, g) - both being part of the band from the beginning. Furthermore it is Col Jones behind the drumkit and Elizabeth Schall on the second guitar. Schall is the newest band member since she joined in 2013. Having her in the band added something to the music of the Cretin. It gives more space for sharp guitar solo that improve the songs of Cretin quite a lot. Eventhough each of the songs follows the same pattern there is more diversity in the music.

The vocals from Marissa, formely Dan Martinez, are as aggressive as we know them from "Freakery". She screams out all the anger accompanied by a brutal guitar sound and an enormous punch. As said already - the album is very fast, but not only build on highspeed. There are interlligent tempo break and mosh parts in several songs. An example is the very groovy middle part of "Knights of the rail".

"Stranger" is an album that is also interesting for non-grindcore fans and is worth to be listened to.





  1. It
  2. Ghost of teeth and hair
  3. The beast and the drowning bucket
  4. Knights of the rail
  5. We live in a cave
  6. Sandwich fro the attic angel
  7. Stranger
  8. Mister Frye, the Janitor guy
  9. Mary is coming
  10. Honey and venom
  11. Freakery
  12. They buried the lunchbox
  13. Husband?
  14. How to wreck your life in three days


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Feath Metal / Grindcore

CD review CRETIN "Stranger"