Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review BAILEY "Long way down"

Veröffentlicht am 8. Dezember 2014 von Markus W. in Bailey, Three Lions, AOR, Hardrock, Classic Rock, Rock, News, CD Review

(7/10) Nigel Bailey is the man behind Bailey. Some of you might know the guy already from his contribution to the Three Lions album that was release a few month ago. Now, a bit later in time, the singer from Bradford released his debut album called "Long way down". Listening to the eleven rock songs on this longplayer I think that Bailey is for sure not on a way down. His solo debut comes with melodic rock songs that are sometimes more rough hardrock like in the title track and sometimes have more of an AOR approach. TheSometimes the songs rock like stuff from Ten while FM comes to your mind at some other spots.

When it comes to the songs I mentioned already the title track which is one of the harder tracks on the album. It has crispy guitars combined with some edges in the music. The same goes actually for songs like "In the name of the king" and "Dirty angel". The last mentioned tune is also one of the faster songs that fills in the role of the closer. It's a real rocking finish of the album with a touch of Foreigner and Whitesnake.

Next to those hard rockers there are the AOR tunes like the very melodic and catchy "Stay". "Somewhere in Oslo" belongs to the same category. This song is even a bit too soft. It reminded me to Smokie. Not that this is something bad, but it sounds very much standard and other compositions on "Long way down" are from much better quality.

It goes without saying that the sound of the album is very good. Not a big surprise comsidering the fact that Alessandro Del Vecchio was responsible for the production (as well as for the keyboards).

Nigel Bailey released a good rock album that come with big hooklines and catchy melodies. "Long way down" is a relevant album for all fans of good (classic-) (hard-) rock music and if you liked the Three Lions you should also go for Bailey solo.





  1. Feed the flame
  2. In the name of the king
  3. Dirty little secret
  4. Bad reputation
  5. Stay
  6. Somewhere in Oslo
  7. Long way down
  8. Spend the night
  9. Love falls down
  10. Ticket to yestreday
  11. Dirty angel


Label: Frontiers Records

Genre: Rock

CD review BAILEY "Long way down"