Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review The German PANZER "Send them all to hell"

Veröffentlicht am 28. November 2014 von Markus W. in Panzer, Destruction, Accept, Heavy Metal, Thrash Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) When guys from well known German metal bands team up the result must be something impressive. The German Panzer ('tank' in English) is the newest of those initiatives. Schmier, bassplayer and singer from Destruction, Herman Frank (g) from Accept and Victory, plus Stefam Schwarzmann from Accept on drums formed this new trio call The German Panzer. And this tank has an enormous power engine.

The project was actually the idea of Schwarzmann who had a chat with Nobert Mandel (from the Z7 in Pratteln, Switzerland) about how to bridge a period between tour and studio. They took the idea of a project further, Mandel contacted Schmier and what started as a chat became more and more form and shape.

The name of the band is something which is a bit delecate. A German band called The German Panzer could lead to some controversial discussions. But it also fits to the music of the band and Schmier also stated that he is critisizing with his lyrics.

The music can be described as being a bit harder than Accept by also being more melodic than Destruction. It is the best out of both worlds which are reflected in The German Panzer.

The opener is pretty fast and reminds to Judas Priest in the "Painkiller" times. The pounding "Hail and kill" and "Temple of doom" guarantee an excellent start into this metal record. A triple that really rocks. "Temple of doom" by the way is everything but not doom. It is a high pace rocker with a lot of screaming guitars. 

The title track is one of the best songs on the record. It is kept a bit slower than some others and spreads a gloomy atmosphere. And this is one of the good things with this album. The German Pazer doesn't sing about war and destruction combined with some sing-a-long melodies; like some other bands. You can feel the pain and harm of war in the songs of The German Panzer.

Another highlight is "Why?". The way Schmier screams 'why' in the chorus puts your teeth on edge. Furthermore the song is slow, heavy and full of desperation. 

Also not to forget the Gary Moore cover "Murder in the skies" that got a new makeover. The original song can be still recognised very well, but the trio re-arranged it and gave it a new interpretation. A well done cover version.

The world would be much better if all 'Panzer' would be like this one, which delivers power instead of pain. I cool album which is maybe not rocket science, but music that is great headbanging stuff. Let's see if The German Panzer keeps on rolling also in the future.





  1. Death knell
  2. Hail and kill
  3. Temple of doom
  4. Panzer
  5. Freakshow
  6. Mr. Nobrain
  7. Why?
  8. Virtual collision
  9. Roll the dice
  10. Bleed for your sins
  11. Murder in the skies (Bonus)


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

CD review The German PANZER "Send them all to hell"