Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review RATED X "Rated X"

Veröffentlicht am 19. November 2014 von Markus W. in Rated X, Joe Lynn Turner, Hardrock, Rock, CD Review, News, Heavy Metal

(8/10) I think that the term 'supergroup' is overused and I also think that Rated X isn't one of those. But they are a bunch of very experienced and passionated musicians that have proven their musical capabilities in many hardrock/metal projects.
Karl Cochran played with Ace Frehley, Tony Franklin on bass is known from Whitesnake and the legendary Blue Murder, Camine Appice worked together with Ozzy Osbourne and last but not least there is Joe Lynn Turner who is looking back on successful days with Rainbow, Yngwie Malmsteen and Deep Purple. All four guys teamed-up and started Rated X.
The album has a fulminant start. "Get back my crown" rocks very hard and it reminds me in the chorus to the later Rainbow days. And what a cool keyboard part followed by a tasteful guitar solo. An entry into the album that has a lot of drive and shows all the passion. 
With songs like "This is who I am" and "Devil in disguise" the four-piece shows its more groovy side. The tunes have the typical blues/hardrock touch and are highlights on the album.
And last but not least there are the more AOR based songs like "Maybe tonight" and "You are the music". The good thing is that even those tracks are not trapped in cliche. The last mentioned track reminded me the way how it's build up actually a bit to Foreigner.
The longest song on the album is called "Lhasa". It is a seven minutes long track that starts, of course, with some Tibetan sound samples. The first guitar riff joins in after a minute and the song turns into an impressive rocker. With a slow, almost hypnotic, rhythm "Lhasa" is for sure one of the pearls on the album. And it is a track where Joe Lynn Turner can show his vocal range in a good way. 
The album is produced by Alessandro Del Vecchio. That means that it got an excellent sound too, by still sounding different than many others of his releases.
Rated X brought us one of the hardrock highlights in 2014 and I hope that this isn't just a one time thing'.



  1. Get back my crown
  2. This is who I am
  3. Fire and ice
  4. I don't cry no more
  5. Lhasa
  6. Devil in disguise
  7. You are the music
  8. Peace of mind
  9. Maybe tonight
  10. On the way to paradise
  11. Our love is not over
  12. Stranger in us all

Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: Hardrock

CD review RATED X "Rated X"