Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review KAIPA "Sattyg"

Veröffentlicht am 6. November 2014 von Markus W. in Kaipa, Rock, Prog Rock, CD Review, News

(7/10) Kaipa stands for rock from Sweden with folk- and prog influences. To be honest - I missed the band so far. It's maybe the same with you.

So, let's have a look back in time. The band started already in the end of the 70's. It was in 1975 when they have released their debut. Starting in this period also reflects a bit the roots and influences of Kaipa. It was the period of the bombastic and pomous rock sounds. Bands like e.g. Yes and Pink Floyd have released their masterpieces.

After having released five records the band disbanded and it took 20 years before Hans Ludin, the founder of Kaipa, reactivated the band again.

They found with InsideOut a label and started to work on a new record. The result was the 2002 release "Notes from the past". Now the new album was released a couple of days ago. A remarkable fact is the guys supporting Ludin on the album. The closest cooperation was probabaly with Per Nilsson from Scar Symmetry on guitar. But also Jonas Reingold from Flower Kings was part of the album on bass and the drums have been played by Morgan Agren (Mats & Morgan, Zappa). The line-up is completed by Patrik Lundstrom (Ritual) and Aleen Gibson - both being responsible for the vocals.

The start into the album is a statement. It is the 15 minutes long "A map of your secert world". It's a silent song with acoustic guitars in the beginning and a great vocal performance of Patrik Lundstrom in a duett with Aleen Gibson. The tune get more powerful in the second half and the prog passion comes more upfront. There are with "Screwed-upness" and "A sky full of painters" two more epically long tracks on the album. All very exciting and an acoustic journey for the listener.

But I really like "Unique when we fall" on the album. Again, it's a chilling beginning before the tune builds up to a real energetic rock song. The tune has a bit a more direct approach which fits very well.

The album became a fine piece of music that is very soulful and passionated. For me personally it became a bit too playful here and there but this doesn't limit the quality of the music at all. This is high level rock music played by experienced musicians with the songs being in focus.





  1. A map of the secret world
  2. World of the void
  3. Screwed-upness
  4. Sattyg
  5. A sky full of painters
  6. Unique when we fall
  7. Without time - beyond time


Label: InsideOut

Genre: Prog Rock

CD review KAIPA "Sattyg"