Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review BLOODBATH "Grand morbid funeral"

Veröffentlicht am 12. November 2014 von Markus W. in Bloodbath, Katatonia, Opeth, Nightingale, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, CD Review, News

(8/10) That death metal and Sweden, esp. Stockholm, goes together very well is nothing really new. Bloodbath is one of those bands coming from the Swedish capital that gained a lot of international attention during the last years. 

Founded as a project already in 1998 by Mikael Åkerfeld (Opeth), Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity and Nightingale), Jonas Renske and Anders Nyström (both Katatonia) Bloodbath released several records and EP's in the last sixteen years. The last full-length album was "The fathomless mastery" in 2008. Six years later the album is in the starting box and ready to be released.

The first remarkable fact is the new singer of Bloodbath. Since Åkerfeld focusses more on Opeth the band needed a new guy behind the mic and they could team-up with Nick Holmes from Paradise Lost. This was good news since Holmes is for a sure an adequade replacement.

"Grand morbid funeral", the name of the new longplayer, is coming with eleven new death metal anthems. All of them have been recorded at Ghost Ward Studios and the City of Glass Studios in Stockholm. The result is an album with a dynamic and mean sound which fits excellent to the music of the band.

So, what about the songs? I have to say that the album became a real aural assault. Immensive riffs and deep growls are characterizing the LP. Nick Holmes brings back memories from the old Paradise Lost times when they wrote their 'hit' "As I die". It's the songs like the blazing fast "Famine of God's word" and "Unite in pain" with the screaming guitars in the beginning that became death metal masterpieces. But it's not only the highspeed moments that are fascinating. Bloodbath also reduces the pace in songs like "Church of Vastilas". This makes the track a gloomy grooving beast that screams for more.

The bouncer and title track takes this approach even one step further. The song is death/doom with a throbbing rhythm and mean vocals by Holmes. It reminded me to Triptykon when I heard the track for the first time. Only in the last minute the track gains speed and ends in a creative noise inferno before a chimming bell and choral elements rounds of a well done record.  

It still seems that Bloodbath is reflecting the death metal side of the band members very well. Esp. since Katatonia and also Paradise Lost went with their main bands a bit away from the genre towards more dark metal it seems to be the right channel for the musicians to enjoy their passion. "Grand morbid funeral" is an excellent death metal album the 'Stockholm style' which you can go for without any hesitation.





  1. Let the stillborn come to me
  2. Total death exhumed
  3. Anne
  4. Church of Vastitas
  5. Famine of God's word
  6. Mental abortion
  7. Beyond cremation
  8. His inferenal necropsy
  9. Unite in pain
  10. My torturer
  11. Grand morbid funeral


Label: Peaceville

Genre: Death Metal

CD review BLOODBATH "Grand morbid funeral"