Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review WHITE EMPRESS "Rise of the empress"

Veröffentlicht am 8. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Whire Empress, Black Metal, Death Metal, Heavy Metal, CD Review, News, Dimmu Borgir, Cradle Of Filth, Nightbringer, 1349

(5/10) OK. That Paul Allender left the British death metal band Cradle Of Filth is known and nothing new. That he started his own band/project called White Empress is also known. What is new is the fact that we know since a few days how the band sounds since the debut "Rise of the empress" is available.

The guitarist from Colchester, Essex, started White Empress in 2013. The first thing that I noticed was of course the cover. It looks like the promotion of a Walt Disney x-mas movie and after seeing it I was even more curious about the music. After having heard the first songs I got into a state of disillusion.

The album "Rise of the mpress" starts quite OK with an instrumental. It is a dramatic one that would also work perfectly on a soundtrack for a movie. Expressionism meets heavy metal. 

But what comes next is not what gets me excited. It's a mix of metal the Cradle Of Filth style combined with some Rammstein-like keyboard samples. The vocals are the same ol' story from clean female ones (from Melissa Ferlaak) merged with growls and shouts. This what we have heard already many times before and mostly also better than what you get from White Empress. 

What I also miss with the album is a clear structure in the songs. All the tunes are heavy, no doubt. But there is too much going on. Less would have been more. There are the fast black/death metal parts, the cineastic orchestration, sometimes there are also industrial elements included, there are the mentioned female vocals and the growls. All those pieces have been put together in a way that the result sounds unfinished and chaotic.

This album is not made for my ears. There are better releases this month like 1349 and Nightbringer. And there are still alternatives like Dimmu Borgir and Cradle Of Filth. Sorry Paul. Maybe next time.





  1. Rise of the empress
  2. The congregation
  3. A prisoner unleashed
  4. Darkness encroaching
  5. Sven's tower
  6. Erased and rewritten
  7. The ecstatic and the sorrow
  8. Dethroned
  9. Obsession with the empress (Human to divine)
  10. Our to burn


Label: Peaceville

Genre: Black Metal

CD review WHITE EMPRESS "Rise of the empress"