Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ...TRAIL OF DEAD ""IX"

Veröffentlicht am 23. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Trail Of Dead, Prog Rock, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Rock, CD Review, News

(7/10) And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead can look back on a longer history. It was in 1994 when the band was founded by Conrad Keely and Jason Reece, both friends from childhood. ...Trail Of Dead published their selftitled debut album in 1998 and till today they added another eight records. 

Consequently "IX" is the newest one and follows the 2013 EP "Tao of the dead part III". In total eleven songs have found a spot on the new disc. 

The music of ...Trail Of Dead stepped a bit away from the pure prog focus of the earlier days. Their sound got a more alternative rock approach that is reflected in songs like e.g. "Jaded heart". The tune with its melancholic vibe reminds me actually to New Model Army merged with the earlier U2.

With "A million random digits" the band shows their garage rock side with roaring downtuned guitars and almost hypnotic vocal lines. The prog roots of the band are mostly reflected in the longer tunes towards the end of the album. "Bus line" and "Lost in the grand scheme" are the more complex rockers. Esp. the last mentioned one lives a lot from the crunchy guitar sound and becomes very intense towards the end. But also the very soulful "Like summer tempests came his tears" is a highlight on the album. It is very quite instrumental that expresses a lot even without words.

All in all a good album from ... Trail Of Dead eventhough it might have a bit less facinating moments than some of the tunes of the predecessors.





  1. The doomsday book
  2. Jaded apostles
  3. A million random digits
  4. Lie without a liar
  5. The ghost within
  6. The dragonfly queen
  7. How to avoid huge ships
  8. Bus lines
  9. Lost in the grand scheme
  10. Like summer tempests came his tears
  11. Sound of silk


Label: Superball

Genre: Prog Rock

CD review ...TRAIL OF DEAD ""IX"