Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review OZZY OSBOURNE "Memories of a madman"

Veröffentlicht am 14. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Ozzy Osbourne, Heavy Metal, Black Sabbath, Rock, Hardrock, CD Review, News

(*/10) The prince of darkness, Ozzy Osbourne, can look back on a long career, full of remarkable milestones. Most of them very positive, some of them more doubtable. But the guy from Birmingham managed always to keep on standing in the spotlight and when it comes to music I must say that he never had a real dip. True, esp. some of the more recent albums have been discussed a bit more controversial, but also those had their highlights.

A trademark of Ozzy is his unique voice which makes him standing out from a lot of other singers. Next to that the guy has an enormous entertainment potential – even nowadays. But Ozzy also had the good luck of always having an excellent guitarist next to him. Regardless if it has been the mighty Tony Iommi riffs in the Black Sabbath days, the sophisticated guitar sound of Randy Rhoads, the more melodic riffing from Jake E. Lee, the massive riffs from Zakk Wylde or the sound of Greece guitar wizard Gus G. – they all added something to the music of Ozzy Osbourne. It almost feels the one needed the other.

The new ‘Best of..” album is a journey through the discography of Ozzy. It’s a chronological trip starting with “Crazy train” from the solo debut and ending with the newest single release “Let me hear you scream” from the “Scream” record. Since it is from old to new the album shows how the sound of Ozzy Osbourne developed during time and you can hear as well the above mentioned influences from the six-stringers. From this point of view the album is a nice summary of the achievements of the prince of darkness.

The release is available as CD (that’s what I’m referring to in this review) and there is also a DVD/BluRay package, which I unfortunately haven’t seen. But looking on the tracklist of the DVD (see link) promises an even bigger excitement than just the CD version.

However. “Memories of a madman” is a compilation of Osbourne’s solo hits (note: I’m missing “Shot in the dark”) that give rookies a good overview and that completes the collection of die-hard fans.





  1. Crazy train
  2. Mr. Crowley
  3. Flying high again
  4. Over the mountain
  5. Bark at the moon
  6. The ultimate sin
  7. Miracle man
  8. No more tears
  9. Mama, I’m coming home
  10. Road to nowhere
  11. Perry Mson
  12. I just want you
  13. Gets me through
  14. Dreamer
  15. I don’t wanna stop
  16. Life won’t wait
  17. Let me hear you scream


Label: Epic Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

CD review OZZY OSBOURNE "Memories of a madman"