Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review LUNATIC SOUL "Walking on a flashlight beam"

Veröffentlicht am 26. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Lunatic Soul, Rock, Alternative Rock, Prog Rock, CD Review, News

(8/10) This album from Lunatic Soul has a fragile beauty that is based on the silent but very soulful songs - nine in total.

But who is Lunatic Soul? We have it to do with a project founded by Mariusz Duda from Riverside. He started the side project already in 2008 and released three albums under this banner. "Walking on a flashlight beam" is the newest kid in town.

By knowing Riverside you can find some elements back also in the music of Lunatic Soul. But Duda adds enough different elements to make it his own.

The album opens with an almost 9 minutes long instrumental; at least that is what the track makes you think during the first 2/3. It's actually waves that is the first thing you hear. Some sphereful sounds join in and the track becomes a dynamic prog song along the way. It reminded me towards the end to Eloy.

"The fear within" is an instrumental that is very much focussed on emotions. Lunatic Soul manages to transport the 'fear within' perfectly with their music. The track is build on a repetative guitar motive that is going through the first half of the seven minutes long song. The motive is accompanied by some keyboards samples which get more into focus in the second part of the track.

"Treehouse" instead feel very light compared to "The fear within". Beautiful melodies are characterisic for this song and the clear vocals from Doda are a treat for your ears. Very good stuff.

The nine songs are a journey though sound and time flies while listening to the album. The band/project creates arcs of suspense in each of the tunes that makes them all standing out. Big melodies, sphereful keyboard samples and great vocal lines - this is what makes the album a real listening experience. It forces you to take time in this fast moving time. Hopefully it will get the time it deserves.





  1. Shutting ot the sun
  2. Cold
  3. Gutter
  4. Stars sellotaped
  5. The fear within
  6. Treehouse
  7. Pygmalion's ladder
  8. Sky drawn in crayon
  9. Walking on a flaslight beam


Label: Kscope

Genre: Prog Rock

CD review LUNATIC SOUL "Walking on a flashlight beam"