Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review LIV KRISTINE "Vervain"

Veröffentlicht am 24. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Liv Kristine, Theatre Of Tragedy, Leave's Eye, Heavy Metal, Symphonic Metal, CD Review, News

(8/10) I don't think that Liv Kristine needs to be introduced. The singer from Stavanger, Norway is well known in the scene from Theatre Of Tragedy many years ago, but also from Leave's Eye, where she shares the vocals with her husband Alex Krull.

"Vervain" is the new studio solo album from the girl with the golden voice. It is her fifth solo strike and it's a very good one. Of course it's her vocals that are standing out and which are the trademark of her solo releases. But a great voice without good songs doesn't bring you anywhere.

Fortunately "Vervain" is full of great tunes. The album is a symphonic metal masterpiece that covers all the trademarks of Liv Kristine's solo discs. The album is highly entertaining due to big melodies, great guitar riffs, thrilling arrangements and her vocals.

The cherry on the cake are the two songs with guest appearances. The first one is called "Love decay" which was also the first single release from "Vervain". The track is a duet of Liv Kristine and Michelle Darkness from End Of Green. The two voices blend very well with each other. The result is a pounding dark metal hymn with a very melancholic vibe.

The second duet is called "Stronghold of angels". Liv Kristine recorded the track together with Doro Pesch. Also here I have to say that the two voice support each other in an excellent way. The song itself is a kind of power ballad and a very emotional moment on the album.

Next to those tracks I like the heavier ones more than the silent stuff Esp. the opener "My wilderness" and also the title track are real highlights.

In the second half "Vervain" gets a bit more silent/reflecting. Tracks like "Two and a heart" and "Creeper" are great songs that show the sensitive side of Liv Kristine's music.

With "Lotus" the album comes also with a pure ballad. Liv Kristine can show their entire vocal range in this soulful tune.

If you love Leave's Eye and female fronted metal in general you will also count "Vervain" to your faves. It's a magnificent record that meets all expectations.





  1. My wilderness
  2. Love decay (feat. Michelle Darkness)
  3. Vervain
  4. Stronghold of angels (feat. Doro Pesch)
  5. Hunters
  6. Lotus
  7. Elucidation
  8. Two and a heart
  9. Creeper
  10. Oblivion


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Symphonic Metal

CD review LIV KRISTINE "Vervain"