Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review GHOST BRIGADE "IV - One with the storm"

Veröffentlicht am 31. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Ghost Brigade, Dark Metal, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, CD Review, News

(9/10) Ghost Brigade celebrates almost their tenth birthday. The band was founded in 2005 in Finland and is back with a new record. The title "IV - One with the storm" states already that it is the fourth full-length longplayer in their discography.

The release date for the new album couldn't have been chosen better. "IV-One with the storm" fits that perfect in the grey autumn season with little daylight, fog and rain. The melancholic vibe of Ghost Brigade's music delivers the perfect soundtrack for this time of the year. It's the mix of dark elements, melancholy and mighty noise attacks that transposts the beauty of darkness.

As said earlier, the album is number four for the band from Finland. It follows the superb "Until fear no longer defines us" which put the level quite high for the new material. Already at this stage of the review I can tell you that Ghost Brigade lives up to all these expectations and has with "IV-One with the storm" an album that at least reaches the level of the predesessor.

One of my personal highlights on the record is the opener. Starting with a powerful riff and the rough vocals from Manne Ikonen the songs becomes a dark anthem with a lot of identity. Another really heavy nothern riff monster is called "The knife". It is one of the more straight forward song with less prog elements. The vocals stay massive thoughout the tune that doesn't take any prisoners.

Ghost Brigade has also the more silent songs on their album which partly sound like a mix of Katatonia and Anathema. "Disembodied voices" is one of them. Esp. in the beginning the track is almost fragil before it turns into a dynamic  metal track with melodic guitar lines. "Electra complex" follows the same pattern. Small difference - the last mentioned track is a 10 minutes long anthem that is done very well. Even with this length the track can keep the excitement from beginning to end. Towards the end riff becomes, due to repetition, almost hypnotic.

"IV-One with the storm" became a great album where Ghost Brigade pick up the thread from "Until fear no longer defines us" and bring their music to a next level.

My hope is that the album will help Ghost Brigade to get the attention they actually deserve.





  1. Wretched blues
  2. Departure
  3. Aurora
  4. Disembodied voices
  5. Electra complex
  6. Stones and pillars
  7. Anchored
  8. The knife
  9. Long way to the graves
  10. Elama on tulta


Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Dark Metal

CD review GHOST BRIGADE "IV - One with the storm"