Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ENGRAVED DISILLUSION "The eternal rest"

Veröffentlicht am 26. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Engraved Disillusion, In Flames, Paradise Lost, Death Metal, Heavy Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) Engraved Disillusion is a fairly new band from the UK. The four-piece plays melodic death metal and has released so far the debut album "Embers of existance" and the new "The eternal rest". 

What sticks out first is the great cover of the album. It transports exactly what you can expect from the music too - a melochcolic and dark vibe in a rough and heavy environment. 

The guys recorded ten songs which are a mix of rough ones combined with more silent tones. "Lost" is a good example for this. The track has some heavy, but melodic riffs, and some growls. But there are also more fragile parts embedded in the middle of the song with some clean vocals. Since the track has a six minutes length it's a well placed break.

The most straight forward songs are "Embrace the fire" and "Into oblivion". Both are pure death metal tracks, performed with a lot of power. Without knowing I also would say that Engraved Disillusion also heard already about Paradise Lost. In some of the tunes, like "No tomorrow", parts like the guitarline remind very much to the guys from Halifax, UK.

The end of the disc is reserved for the longest track on the album. The title track "The eternal rest" is a nine minutes long highlight that starts very silent with some piano parts. There is a kind of underlaying depressive feeling esp. when the guitar joins. The song slowly builds up into a metal track with mostly clean vocals. There are some screams as well but more in an epic surrounding. Towards the end the song gets acoustic again and the piano, that kicked-off the track, also finishs it. 

I can't really understand why the band haven't got a deal yet. The album sounds pretty good and I guess it is just a matter of time when one of the labels will sign them. Check it out.





  1. Life is...
  2. Embrace the flames
  3. Lost
  4. Curse the sorrow
  5. Shadow run black
  6. No tomorrow
  7. Into oblivion
  8. In aeternum
  9. Echoes from a silent sky
  10. The eternal rest


Label: Independed Release

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

CD review ENGRAVED DISILLUSION "The eternal rest"