Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ALICE COOPER "Raise the dead - Live from Wacken"

Veröffentlicht am 17. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Alice Cooper, Hardrock, Wacken, Rock, Heavy Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) The master of shock rock Alice Cooper played at the mighty Wacken festival in 2013 and the gig is now released as CD/DVD. It was another moment when legends came together. Rock dinosaur Alice Cooper and the famous Wacken festival.

The result is an impressing live album with a full and authentic live sound. It reflects the great atmosphere during the show pretty well.

The setlist doesn't leave space for any extra wishes. Alice Cooper served an excellent mix of old stuff like "Million dollar babies" and new material like "Dirty diamonds". Also the hits from the 80's have been a 'must' for the show. "House of fire" as well as "Feed my Frankenstein" rocked Wacken very well. "With "Department of youth" also a not that often performed tracks found the way on the setlist.

In the last third of the concert Alice showed his respect for other rock legends. "Revolution" from The Beatles, "Foxy lady" from Hendrix and The Who's "My generation" have been performed and fitted perfect into the set. Good choice.

The end of the show was reserved for the biggest highlights of Alice Cooper's discography.Those guaranteed a grand final. The triple "I'm eighteen", "Poison" and "School's out" rounded off a passiont Alice Cooper show that makes hangry for more.

It's always a pleasure to see the 66 years old rocker on stage. The energy he transfers is still amazing. Those are the real legends and we hope that Alice Cooper will delight us many more years with his music, his show and his dedication. Rock'n'roll never dies.


PS: Another remarkable fact is that UDR start with this release a series of live recording from legendary Wacken performances. From each album EUR 1,- will be donated to the Wacken Foundation. The organisation is a non-profit one and supports young talents in hardrock and metal music. Very good and another reason to call this album your own.






  1. Hello hooray
  2. House of fire
  3. No more Mr. Nice Guy
  4. Under the wheels
  5. I'll bit your face off
  6. Billion dollars babies
  7. Caffeine
  8. Department of youth
  9. Hej stoopid
  10. Dirty diamonds
  11. Welcome to my nightmare
  12. Go to hell
  13. He's back (the man behind the mask)
  14. Feed my Frankenstein
  15. Ballad of Dwight Fry
  16. Killer
  17. I love the dead
  18. Break on though
  19. Revolution
  20. Foxy lady
  21. My generation
  22. I'm eighteen
  23. Poison
  24. School's out / Another brick in the wall


Label: UDR

Genre: Hardrock


CD review ALICE COOPER "Raise the dead - Live from Wacken"