Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review THRESHOLD "For the journey"

Veröffentlicht am 19. September 2014 von Markus W. in Threshold, Heavy Metal, Prog Rock, Prog Metal, Power Metal, CD Review, News

(9/10) For me Threshold are one of those bands that are respected by almost everybody. I don't think that there are a lot of bad words about the band. This has to do with two facts. One is, that their music is on a quite high level - when it comes to capabilities, but also when it comes to songwriting. They combine complexity, heaviness and catchiness in a way not many other bands do. The six-piece never looses the focus on the song itself.

All this is enriched by very enrgetic live shows. I still remember the gig during the Rock Hard Festival a couple of years ago, when Damian Wilson took a round through the audience during one of the songs. They live the statement of being 'close to the fans'.

Due to the complexity of their music Threshold is often put into the box of progressive metal and partly this is also correct. But the influences are much wider. This becomes clearer by also looking back into the history of the London based band. They started many many years ago as cover band, playing songs from Sleaze metal to thrash metal. This diversity is still reflected in their music nowadays.

Threshold's lates achievement got the name "For the journey". It's for me the most mature album of the band and it fits perfect as being the successor of "March in progress" from 2012, which I still like a lot.

The newest release contains 8 song and one bonus track. This doesn't seem to be a lot, but since some of the tracks come with an epical length the total playing time provides you with enough music from the sextett.

The opener is the first song they released from the new album. "Watchtower on the moon" is based on a quite heavy riff combined with a great vocal line. The song sticks immediately. It becomes a bit slower and darker with "Unforgiven". The five minutes long tune spreads an oppressive atmosphere and shows together with the opener the width of Threshold's music.

The highlight of the album is for sure the 12 minutes long "The box". The reflecting and touching tune starts with piano and vocals only before it builds up to an anthem with heavy guitars and keyboard explosion - all embedded in huge melodies. This song is in my point of view one of the best ones the band has ever released. And like mentioned earlier, Threshold never looses the red thread in this song. It stands as one unit with keeping the high level of excitement from the first to last note.

The last statement is actually valid for the entire album. There are the more silent tracks like "Lost in your memory", followed by the melodic "Autumn red". All of them really good.

The album is rounded off by the prog rocker "Siren sky" which reminded me in the more heavy parts to Dream Theater, eventhough it's easier to digest than the sometimes too complex stuff from the NY-based quintet.

"For the journey" is another milestone in Threshold's success story and should be part of your metal collection.





  1. Watchtower on the moon
  2. Unforgiven
  3. The box
  4. Turned to dust
  5. Lost in your memory
  6. Autumn red
  7. The mystery show
  8. Siren sky
  9. I wish I could (Bonus)


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Prog Metal

CD review THRESHOLD "For the journey"