Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SÓLSTAFIR "Ótta"

Veröffentlicht am 2. September 2014 von Markus W. in Solstifar, Heavy Metal, Doom Metal, Dark Metal, CD Review, News

(9/10) That Island is famous for vulcanos with ineffably names, gush springs and mysterious crime thrillers is known very well. But the island is also know for interesting music. Sólstafir is spearhead of those bands and is together with bands like Sigur Rós probabaly the best known niche band from the island in the north.

Sólstafir is active already since 1995 and their debut "Í blóōi og anda" has seen the light of day in 2002.

"Ótta" is album number five in the discography of the band and in my opinion the best one the band has released so far. Fortunatley I can't see a big change to the predecessor. Sólstifar wrote and recorded again very emotion songs for "Ótta". The ease which seems to accompany the band in the songwriting process is unbelievable. The band seems to benefit from a neverending flow of creativity which leads to big arcs of melodies. 

The whole atmosphere of the album is kept in minor. There is a certain sadness in the tunes of Sólstifar which never becomes depressive. It's more reflecting and an exit for feelings.

"Ótta", the title track, is one of those tracks. The vocals of A. Tryggvason are almost fragile in certain parts of the song, before they get more powerful along the way. With almost 10 minutes the tune is anyhow a musical masterpiece since the band placed so many breaks and twists into the song. It's almost like a movie which you want to follow till the end.

The same goes for the epical eleven minutes long "Náttmál". The song belongs to the faster ones on the album and it's the guitar that shines on the base which is build by the keyboards. Emotion pure that gives you goose skin.

But there are also the more simple structured tunes which found a spot on the tracklist. One of them is "Dagmál". It's a dark song which has a melody which is similar to the Fields Of Nephilim. 

"Ótta" is a real highlight when it comes to the 2014 releases. It'a a great album which hopefully gets the attention that it deserves. It will for sure take a few more rounds on my turntable and I'm looking forward to see them live in autumn this year.





  1. Lágnætti
  2. Ótta
  3. Rismál
  4. Dagmál
  5. Miõdegi
  6. Nón
  7. Miõaftann
  8. Náttmál
  9. Tilberi (Bonus)
  10. Til valhaller (Bonus)


Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Dark Metal

CD review SÓLSTAFIR "Ótta"