Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review AUDREY HORNE "Pure heavy"

Veröffentlicht am 21. September 2014 von Markus W. in Audrey Horne, Hardrock, Classic Rock, Rock, Alternative Metal, Thin Lizzy, Kiss, CD Review, News

(8/10) The new album from Audrey Horne means 45 minutes of pure fun and rock'n'roll entertainment. The continuity of the high quality level of the band from Bergen, Norway is amazing. What started in 2002 as a funproject of some black metal guys turned into a successful classic-/hardrock band. 

"Pure heavy" is now already the fifth full-length release of the band and I think one of the most mature ones. Over time the sound of Audrey Horne moved more and more towards pure classic rock. This style was present in their sound of the early days already, but at that time they mixed it more with some alternative and post grunge elements. Therefore "Pure heavy" is a well chosen title of the record.

"Pure heavy" comes with eleven killers and no filler. For me the best song of the album comes already early in the beginning. After the good opener "Wolf in my heart" it's the fast "Holy roller" that creates pure excitement. It is right to the point with some crispy guitars and galloping beats. A live song per excellence.

As I said earlier the classic rock influences became bigger. Songs like "Gravity" and esp. "Out of the city" have a strong Thin Lizzy touch. Audrey Horne interprets this style in a good and own way. They are inspired but they never copy.

With "Diamond" the album also has a one and a half minutes intermezzo just by the acoustic guitar and Toschie's vocals. But than it's over with the silence again. The riff from "Into the wild" brings you back into the headbanging mode. 

Next to mentioned tunes their is the mean groove monster "Waiting for the night" with a great melody plus a catchy chorus that rocks. 

The hypnotic "Boy wonder" is the final track on the album and again a powerful one that leaves you behind slack-jawed. What suits the track too is the short releaxed instrumental part half way. This is a welcome break followed by a melodic guitar solo. 

"Pure heavy" is an excellent new album from Audrey Horne and I liked what I heard. Fans of the and can easily go for it and hardrockers in general will not be disappointed too. Cool stuff.





  1. Wolf in my heart
  2. Holy roller
  3. Out of the city
  4. Volcano girl
  5. Tales from the cyrpt
  6. Diamond
  7. Into the wild
  8. Gravity
  9. High and dry
  10. Waiting for the night
  11. Boy wonder


Label: Naplam Records

Genre: Classic Rock

CD review AUDREY HORNE "Pure heavy"