Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review WOVENWAR "Wovenwar"

Veröffentlicht am 6. August 2014 von Markus W. in Wovenwar, As I Lay Dying, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, CD Review, News

(8/10) Even a bad situation can have something positive - as long as you don't give up. This could be the overall header for the debut album from Wovenwar.

The band isn't a new one since it is basically As I Lay Dying with a new singer. I will not go deeper into the issue about singer Tim Lambesis who was arrested and will be in jail for 6 years. But this situation brought the quite successful band into heavy seas. From more or less one day to another the band was standing there without singer and under shock based on Lambesi's situation.

In such a phase of a bands life you either give up or you try to make the best out of it. The members of As I Lay Dying decided to go for the second option. And I must say that they did it pretty smart. Instead of continuing under the label of As I Lay Dying the band took the decision to sail under the flag of Wovenwar into the glorious future.

But will it be a good future? In my point of view I must say 'yes'. A not unimportant part in this is the new singer Shane Blay. It was actually guitarist Nick Hipa who brought the guy into the band and there was an immediate click between the band and him. Blay keeps the vocals more melodic. He is singing and screams aren't part of the sound of Wovenwar. This makes the entire sound more melodic and approachable. I would describe the sound as Modern Metal. I like this development and appreciate the new sound expression. I assume that Wovenwar might loose some old As I lay Dying fans, but that they will also enlarge their fanbase by gaining new supporters.

The songs are diverse. There are hard rockers on the album like "Death to rights" and "Ruined ends" - both with a heavy riffing and great guitar sound. The are the hard, but more melodic tracks like "Moving up" and there is also a ballad on the album. This is new territory and I don't know if it was needed. But I have to admit that "Father son" doesn't sound too bad.

If you expect some metalcore Wovenwar isn't the band you should go for. But if you're looking for a modern metal sound with a great singer you should give this album a chance. I like the album.





  1. Foreword
  2. All rise
  3. Death to rights
  4. Tempest
  5. The mason
  6. Moving up
  7. Sight of shore
  8. Father son
  9. Profane
  10. Archers
  11. Ruined ends
  12. Identity
  13. Matter of time
  14. Propohets
  15. Onward


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Modern Metal

CD review WOVENWAR "Wovenwar"