Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review NUM SKULL "Ritually abused" re-released

Veröffentlicht am 30. August 2014 von Markus W. in Num Skull, Dark Angel, Slayer, Possessed, Thrash Metal, Death Metal, CD Review, News

(8/10) There have been a few band in the peak times of thrash metal, that have been quite good, but were drowning in the big amount of thrashers. Nowadays it can be refreshing to listen to some of these bands - esp. if there are re-issues from their records.

One of those bands is Num Skull. The guys from Winthrop Harbor, Illinois released their debut album "Ritually abused" in 1988. The line-up Skip McGullam (v), Rob Charrier (b), Jeff McGullam (d), Tom Brander (g) and Eric Seiller (g) plays straight-forward thrash metal. Eventhough the album is a re-issue it has the oldschool charm which got lost nowadays so often. Of course doesn't have the best sound, but that is who thrash albums in the 80's have been. Still each the production and the mix are transparent. The raw enegry won over technical finesse.

When I heard the album, and I have to admit that I missed the original version as well, I was often reminded to Slayer, Dark Angel and Possessed. Uncompromising songs with screaming guitars, breaks and some great mosh parts like in "Death and innocence". The only small point of critic is that the songs are similar to each other and are exchangable. However, I enjoyed listening to the album.

It seems that Relapse records is nowadays releasing some of those pearls. The first one was Death's "Leprosy" followed now by Num Skull. Let's see what's next. Mosh on.





  1. The end
  2. Ritually abused
  3. Death and innocence
  4. No morals
  5. Friday's child
  6. Off with your head
  7. The henchman
  8. Pirate's night
  9. Turn of a screw
  10. Kiss me, kill me
  11. Rigor mortis
  12. Murder by the minister (Bonus)


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

CD review NUM SKULL "Ritually abused" re-released