Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review Engineers "Always returning"

Veröffentlicht am 7. August 2014 von Markus W. in Engineers, Anathema, Rock, Alternative Rock, Prog Rock, CD Review, News

(7/10) It was in 2003 when Mark Peters, Dan MacBean, Andrew Sweeney and Simon Phipps founded Engineers. The debut of the London based band was released in 2005 and after a few changes in the line up Engineers publish their newest album “Always returning” in August this year. In the meantime Mark Peters is the only founding member in the line-up that worked on the new album. The current line-up is completed by Ulrich Schnauss and Matthew Linley.

The music can be defined as chilling rock music with a certain pop appeal. The songs are kept slow and reflecting. It isn't a heavy album or a real rock disc. It is more an album for a chilling Sunday after having a hard Saturday night.

Big soundscapes based on guitar and keyboard are the main focus with Engineers. The songs structure, the arrangement and the melody are in focus in each of the ten tracks.

Everybody who is looking for heavy riffs shouldn't really consider this album as being yours. But fans of bands like Anathema and Pink Floyd should give this album a chance. I guess you will like it.




PS.: In case anyone knows what;s the link between Innsbruck and the band, please leave a comment.



  1. Bless the painter
  2. Fight or flight
  3. It rings so true
  4. Drive your car
  5. Innsbruck
  6. Searched for answers
  7. Smiling back
  8. A million voices
  9. Smoke and mirrors
  10. Always returning


Label: Kscope

Genre: Prog Rock

CD review Engineers "Always returning"