Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DECEPTIC "The artifact"

Veröffentlicht am 31. August 2014 von Markus W. in Deceptic, Soilwork, Death Metal, Modern Metal, Heavy Metal, Alternative Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) I don't know jow often I have written about Gothenburg bands in the last weeks. Here is the next one. Deceptic are from the second biggest Swedish city too. The band was founded in 2011 by Tony Gullquist (g), Dennis Svensson (d) and William Gustafsson (v). The three guys completed the line-up by adding John Wennergren (g) and Tobias Westling (b).

Already at the end of 2011 Deceptic released their first EP. Unfortunatley some guys left the band and forced the founding trio to re-think the band's activities. They continued working on their debut album and in the meantime they also found with Otto Halling (b) and Martin Calenfors (g) two additional musicians. Boarding completed again.

"The antifact", mixed and mastered by Tue Madsen, is the name of the long awaited debut of the Deceptic. I would describe the sound of the band as Modern Metal. Gustafsson changes constantly between real singing and shouting. Some growls add the sound a certain death compontent. The same goes for the music itself as well. Sometimes very melodic and at other moment with real heavy sound eruptions Deceptic tries to bring variation into their songs.

The result is an interesting album which is from a songwriting perspective exciting. The production fits as well and the entire package stands as one unit. 

Only small point of critic is the fact that the sound of Deceptic isn't really new. There are quite some bands with a similar setup like Soilwork. They are a bit late with this kind of music, but maybe they develop further with the next record.

If Deceptic will have a breakthrough with "The artifact" is something time will will tell. Check it out and form your own opinion.





  1. Heart of the swarm
  2. Ocean
  3. A world unkown
  4. Pulling levers
  5. The shining throne
  6. Lead astray
  7. Depraved
  8. Smorgasbord of shame
  9. Reborn
  10. Life finds a way


Label: Dead End Exit Records

Genre: Modern Metal

CD review DECEPTIC "The artifact"