Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review STEEL PROPHET "Omniscient'

Veröffentlicht am 11. Juli 2014 von Markus W. in Steel Prophet, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, US Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) California based metal band Steel Prophet have been in the studio again. Already this is good news, since they had their latest full-length release in 2004. So it took the band 10 years for a new album. What a long period of time. In order to not get totally forgotten the band release two compilation records along the way, but what got more attention was actually the changes in the line-up, which went on and on.

Now it seems that the Steel Prophet heads into calmer waters again. They have with Rick Mythiasin a old/new singer behind the mic which is a good thing. It's Mythiasin wide vocal range which fits to the sound of Steel Prophet quite well and it's his screams which really make the tunes so much power metal.

When I heard the album the first time I was a bit disappointed by the opening double package. "Trickery of the scourge" and "When I remake the world" aren't really musical ice breakers. Not that the songs are bad, it's just that there are better ones on the album which could have been better for kicking of "Omniscient".

But what comes next was more convincing for me. So don't give up after 2 songs. "911" is a fast riff rocker which hits the nail on the head. The same goes for "The tree of knowledge" too. I was reminded to Crimson Glory when I heard the song the first time. The earlier released single follows. "666 is everywhere" led to some worries about the quality of the entire album. But I have to say that I like the song. It's for sure one of the more simple ones but it does its job - even more if you consider the  ironic lyrics.

Half way Steel Prophet added a short spacy intermezzo called "Oleanders deux". Have they been listening to Devin Townsend too often? :o) Nice, not more and not less. Fortunately after a bit more than a minute the next riff breaks the silence. "Aliens, Spaceship and Richard Nixon is a gloomy mid-tempo power metal track with a galloping rhythm and 'the siren' at work. Mythiasin does a great job here and in some parts his falsetto-like vocals remind even to the mighty King Diamond. Again a prove for his vocal range. For me one of the strongest track on the album.

With "Bohemian rhapsody" - yes, the Queen song - the band also took a risk. First of all Queen is so unique that it's hard to cover one of their songs in a good way. Secondly "Bohemian rhapsody" is very present at each metal fan due to the "Wayne's world" movie. But I have to say that the interpretation of Steel Prophet is a good one and doesn't sound emberacing at all. They keep their version pretty close to the original song; and that's what they are doing good. The cover version isn't a milestone but it is a well crafted version of a classic in music history.

Conclusion: "Omniscient" became a strong power metal album with a lot of good songs on it. More than an hour running time gives you also value for money and I hope, that it doesn't take another 10 years for the next studio output.





  1. Trickery of the scourge
  2. When I remake the world
  3. 911
  4. Chariots of the Gods
  5. The tree of knowledge
  6. 666 is everywhere
  7. Oleanders deux
  8. Aliens, spaceships and Richard Nixon
  9. Through time and space
  10. Funeral for art
  11. Call it Katahdin
  12. Transformation staircase
  13. Bohemnian rhapsody
  14. 1984


Label: Cruz Del Sur Music

Geren: Power Metal

CD review STEEL PROPHET "Omniscient'