Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review TANKARD "R.I.B."

Veröffentlicht am 20. Juni 2014 von Markus W. in Tankard, Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, CD Review, News

(8/10) "Rest in beer" - the name fits again very well to an album from German beer metal guys from Tankard. The Äppelwio (German alcoholic drink made from apples) rockers from Frankfurt, Germany worked hard on their new record which is available now. The name, as mentioned, is "R.I.B." and it will be record number sixteen in the 30 year long history of the band.

Starting in 1986 with very basic and furious debut album "Zombie attack" the band released many good album in all those year (actually "The morning after" is still my fave). 30 years of 'beer metal' led even to a biography which was released as book a few month ago. Eventhough I haven't read the book I can imagine a lot of interesting and exciting stories from a band like Tankard (Is Gerre's appearance in a German soap opera mentioned as well?). 

So, what to say about the new record. The first surprise is the start. Expecting a brutal drinking riff I was confronted with an acoustic intro followed by a melodic Metallica-like guitar melody. For a second I was doubting if I put the right CD into the player. But this thought was wiped away after a few seconds. The expected riff took over and with "War cry" Tankard has placed a very typical song on the opener position. Simple, brutal and straightforward. This three words actual describe the entire album quite well too. There isn't hardly any time to breath. One thrash anthem follows the other. A song that stands out a bit is "Riders of the doom". The tune comes with some more classic metal influences. The guitars and the arrangements remind me to Maiden. Well done.

The sound is fresh and highly energetic. I was very happy about this fact since I wasn't really satisfied with the sound of the former two records.

Also the cover reflects the band perfectly. Actually it looks a bit like the one with the weird professor on "Chemical invasion" which was also the idea from Patrick Strogulski. He was responsible already for the "Chemical invasion" one too.

"R.I.B." is another soundtrack for your next party. And let's hope that Tankard will release more records like this in the future and will not 'rest in beer' for too long.






  1. War cry
  2. Fooled by your guts
  3. R.I.B. (Rest in beer)
  4. Riders of the doom
  5. Hope can't die
  6. No one hit wonder
  7. Breakfast for champions
  8. Enemy of order
  9. Clockwise to deadline
  10. The party ain't over 'til we say so



Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Thrash Metal

CD review TANKARD "R.I.B."