Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MAYHEM "Esoteric warfare"

Veröffentlicht am 10. Juni 2014 von Markus W. in Mayhem, Black Metal, CD Review, News

(8/10) Mayhem is one of the black metal pioneers with a long and very controverse history. 

The band from Norway is more known for their quite extreme and extrovert live shows which is maybe a reason that they have released so far only four full-length records. 

It's amazing how many faces 'evil' can have. "Esoteric warfare" contains 11 mean black metal tracks which are all on a very high level. It starts already with the epical opener "Watchers". High speed riffs and a furious beat accompanies you on a six minutes journey to hell. But it's not only the blast speed parts which are convincing. Also the slow middle part of the tune is amazing. "PsyWar" doesn't give you any time to recover. Another track which hits you right into your face. Spoken words kick-off "Trinity" before the riff storm starts again. The most atmospheric tune is called "Posthuman". It comes slow and mean around the corner. With a weird guitar sound and scary vocals from Attila the song is the personified evil. The tension in the song is based on the mentioned slow part, which alternate with some blast speed parts. You might feel guilty that evil is facinating you by listening to that song. It's like a car accident on the highway. You can't do different than watching what happened. That goes for this song, actually for the entire album. The almost seven minutes long song is a masterpiece of creative black metal. The closer "Into the lifeless - Budapest session" has a similar approach. It's the charsimatic vocals who give the tune its identy. In the end it becomes almost sic. For the rest its again the mixture of slow and fast, pushed by an aggressive and merciless beat. Another remarkable song is "Corpse of acre" - a depressing and desperate piece of musical goose bumps.

"Esoteric warfare" clearly underlines why Mayhem is one of the biggest bands in black metal. You either like the album or not, but at least you react on it and it activates your emotions. However those look like.





  1. Watchers
  2. PsyWar
  3. Trinity
  4. Pandeamon
  5. Milab
  6. VI.Sec.
  7. Throne of time
  8. Corpse of care
  9. Posthuman
  10. Aion suntelia
  11. Into the lifeless - Budapest session


Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Black Metal

CD review MAYHEM "Esoteric warfare"