Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SERPENTINE PATH "Emanations"

Veröffentlicht am 23. Mai 2014 von Markus W. in Serpentine Path, Death Metal, Doom Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) Doom-/Death Metal from New York. That's what you can expect from Serpentine Path. Founded already in 2011, out of the ashes of Unearthly Trance, the band released their debut in the same year. "Emanations" is the second crushing album of the band and will be in the stores on May 23.

The new record comes with seven song, most of them between 5 and 7 minutes long. Tunes like "Claws" and "Treacherous water" are acousitcal versions of the neverending maelstrom which swallows everything around. Brutal and slow guitar riffs combined with a merciless working rhythm section are the base for each track. It's doom metal on a quite high level. The rough, almost growling vocals of Ryan Lipynsky adds the death metal compontent to those heavy tunes. A cool combination.

What I miss with this record is the diversity. The seven tracks sound pretty similar and also the pace of the songs is very much of the same. This makes album, but also some song a bit lengthy.

Otherwise the album became a good release with an aggressive, but still clear sound.

I like to combination of doom- and death metal on the album. I have partly the feeling that this combination makes metal even more heavy. If the band would manage in the future to also add a few more diverse elements into their songs I could foresee a glorious future for the five guys.





  1. Essence of heresy
  2. House of worship
  3. Treeacherous waters
  4. Claws
  5. Disfigured colossus
  6. Systematic extinction
  7. Torment


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Death Metal

CD review SERPENTINE PATH "Emanations"