Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ALIEN "Eternity"

Veröffentlicht am 18. April 2014 von Markus W. in Alien, AOR, Hardrock, Rock, News, CD Review

(7/10)  Alien plays AOR music which fits good inthe spring season. The band is from Sweden and had already earlier releases like their debut in 1989. True, that's a while ago, but with the new album they prove, that they still can rock.

After Alien reunited in 2010 they played a fesfestivals and released a single called "Ready to fly". After re-releasing the first two albums two years later the band deceided to record a new album. "Eternity" is the result of this effort.

Already the opener  "In love we trust" is a rocking tune which is the perfect soundtrack for ride with your convertable. Compared  to the opener "Unbroken" is even more rocking in the verse before the sugar sweet melodies are coming back in the refrain. The typical pattern for tracklist in this genre seems to be having a ballad at the forth position. That's also the case this time. "I believe" is the name of the tune and it is a typical AOR ballad. Good, but also heard a few times before. The pushing "What goes up" is for me the best track on the album. It reminded me a bit to the earlier Domain from Germany in some parts. This has mainly to do with the keyboard sections in the chorus. 

"Eternity" has everything which is needed for a good AOR album. It rocks, it has catchy melodies, it spreads a good vibe and it has a very good sound. The only thing which reduces the score is, that it is not surprising enough. Alien delivers a solid standard which is less sticky than other releases and makes fun to listen to. Not more, but also not less.





  1. In love we trust
  2. Unbroken
  3. Love will lead me home
  4. I believe
  5. Summer of love
  6. What goes up
  7. I'm a fighter
  8. Wildheart
  9. Liar liar
  10. Look at us know
  11. Burning heart
  12. In truth


Label:AOR Heaven

Genre: AOR 

CD review ALIEN "Eternity"