Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD/DVD review DIO "Live in London - Hammersmith Odeon 1993"

Veröffentlicht am 28. April 2014 von Markus W. in Dio, Black Sabbath, Rainbow, Heavy Metal, DVD review, News, CD Review

(8/10) It was a sad moment four years ago when the news spread around the world that one of the most talented singers in Heavy Metal died - Ronnie James Dio. 

Now, almost four years after the exact date of death, a new release with the small Italian rooted singer is out there in the stores. It is another live recording. This time it is the show in 1993 which took place in the legendary London Hammersmith Odeon. It was the last night on European tour for promoting Dio's "Strange highways" record. This is also reflectd in the setlist. The live album contains with "Strange highways", "Pain", "Evilution", "Hollywood black" and the closer "Here's to you" already six tunes from the album. This gives the DVD an extra since these tracks aren't on many other live releases and Dio hasn't played them afterwards very often either in his shows. From this standpoint the DVD is pretty unique. These tunes compete with the old classic from Dio, Sabbath and Rainbow. Songs like "Heaven & hell", "The last in line" and "We rock" are crucial parts in rock history and it's always a pleasure to listen to them. The setlist also shows the  discrepancy between the new and the old material. The "Strange highways" material was written after Dio's first reunion with Black Sabbath, which led to the "Dehuminizer" disc in 1992. After this release and the following split, Dio had to re-activate his own band and the result became pretty dark and complex. It reflects the period in the band's history very well and shows the difference to the older stuff.  The line up for the album and the tour included next to the extrovert singer also guitarist Tracy G., ex-Dokken bass player Jeff Pilson and drum legend Vinny Appice. This line-up was pretty much discussed and it was guitarist Tracy G. who actually a hard time in this period.

The DVD also contains a section with behind the scene material, which of course always entertaining to look at. It contains interviews with all band members - funny enough during they get their make-up - and also some backstage sequences. Not revolutionary but fun. And listening to Dio is always a pleasure.

All in all I have to say that this release is for Dio the fans. It is already number three after Ronnie's death and they are not that different from each other - expect partly in the setlist. Since this disc focus on a newer and less captured period of the band I think that this DVD is a good additional item for all die-hard Dio fans and collectors of the band.





01. Stand Up And Shout
02. Strange Highways
03. Don’t Talk To Strangers
04. Evilution
05. Pain
06. The Mob Rules
07. Children Of The Sea
08. Holy Diver
09. Heaven And Hell
10. Man On The Silver Mountain
11. Drum Solo
12. Heaven And Hell (reprise)
13. Jesus, Mary & The Holy Ghost
14. Hollywood Black
15. The Last In Line
16. Rainbow In The Dark
17. We Rock
18. Here’s To You


Label: Eagle Vision

Genre: Heavy Metal

CD/DVD review DIO "Live in London - Hammersmith Odeon 1993"