Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DOGFACE "Back on the streets"

Veröffentlicht am 31. Dezember 2013 von Markus W. in Dogface, Yngwie Malmsteen, Candlemass, Therion, CD Review, News, Hardrock

(8/10) Mats Leven is for sure no newcomer. The Swedish singer is/was already busy in several bands since 27 years. Most of you have heard him probably in bands like Candlemass, Treat, Therion, Yngwie Malmsteen and Kurx – to mention just some of them. Next to those bands Leven is also singing for Dogface. Dogface is a plays classic rock oriented hardrock and released two albums in the beginning of 2000. Now, 11 years after the release of “In control”, the band, which was also renewed in all these years, came out with their third record named “Back on the street”.

Looking into the songs. They are superb hardrockers which are in the tradition of bands like Whitesnake and Europe. The opener “Footsteps on the moon” is a midtempo rocker with a pounding rhythm. “Can’t face tomorrow” increase the speed a bit and could also be a better Europe song from their earlier 80’s period. Talking about up-tempo – also “Back on the streets” fits into this category. I was reminded a bit to “Out in the fields” from Gary Moore.  “The fall” is a great blues based song with a Hammond organ solo half way. Sounds cool. With “Crazy horses” the record has also a cover version from an old The Osmonds. Dogface adds their own identity to the song which makes it a good cover version. The last song on the album is called “Freaking out” and stands out from the other material on “Back on the streets”. It transports a really mad vibe and sounds more like one of the older Alice Cooper songs from the 70’s with a Pink Floyd-like guitar solo in the middle. Great to see that the band also tries out this kind of things.

“Back on the street” became the expected good hardrock album and it seems that the 11 years break was re-energizing for the band. Good stuff.





  1. Footsteps on the moon
  2. Back on the streets
  3. Higher
  4. The fall
  5. Can’t face tomorrow
  6. Fired
  7. Get up
  8. Start a fire
  9. Crazy horses
  10. Freaking out


Label: AOR Heaven

Genre: Hardrock

CD review DOGFACE "Back on the streets"