Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DAUGHTRY "Baptized"

Veröffentlicht am 3. Dezember 2013 von Markus W. in Daughtry, Hardrock, Rock, CD Review, News

(7/10) Can all these casting shows lead to something which is sustainable? Mostly ‘no’, sometimes ‘yes’. One of those ‘sometimes yes’ is Daughtry. Chris Daughtry was the winner of season 5 of American Idols and released two CD which have been pretty successful. The debut, simply named Daughtry, came out in 2006 and 3 years later he released “Leave this town”. A few days ago Daughtry released his/their new album called “Baptized”. On this album Daughtry changed things, which will say that he softened the sound. The hard rock / alternative rock elements went further into the back while keyboards and pop elements became more attention this time. This makes the songs much more mainstream. Additionally the new album contains more ballads and slower tracks. When I heard the album for the first time I had to think about Travis and Coldplay. So we can say that “Baptized” became a professional pop/rock album.

What stayed is the fantastic voice of Chris Daughtry. He could sing the alternative rock tracks in the past in the same awesome way as he perfoms this time the softer songs. Next to that the songs have catchy melodies and hooks which are do their job. So I think from the songwriting perspective there is nothing to complain – at least not for that kind of music.

The title track is quite rocking before it becomes more pop. "Waiting for superman" is the first single release from the album and became a very catchy song which is electro-pop with some small parts of rock. Probabaly the softest song they recorded so far. "Battleships" is a relaxed song with some I would say african ryhthmics  in the chorus. Interesting. After all this pop melodies it becomes a bit rougher again. "I'll fight" is based mainly on acoustic guitars with a more powerful chorus. It reminds a bit to Nickleback - just in good. The roughest track is "Traitor" which has quite some enegry, eventhough we also can't talk about hardrock anymore also with this song. 

The acoustic guitar based "Long live rock'n'roll" is actually a good song with the right message. The only thing is, that eventhough it's a totally different song and not a cover version, "Long live rock'n'roll" for me is Rainbow and Ronnie James Dio only and  forever. "Wild heart" is another song, which doesn't really fit my taste. It's a bit too simple.

The production of the albums is for me a bit too good. It has almost an unnatural perfection which makes the sound too clean and too less vital.

After getting used to the new sound I started to like the album. It’s mainstream, but it’s good. The album has some ups and downs but it's worth to check it. If you know the older Daughtry I recommend to listen to the album first. A small disappointment stays since the expectations have been higher.





  1. Baptized
  2. Waiting for superman
  3. Battleships
  4. I’ll fight
  5. Wild heart
  6. Long live rock’n’roll
  7. The world we knew
  8. High above the ground
  9. Broken arrows
  10. Witness
  11. Traitor
  12. 10 years


Label: RCA Records

Genre: Rock

CD review DAUGHTRY "Baptized"