Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review IMPENDING DOOM "Death will reign"

Veröffentlicht am 12. November 2013 von Markus W. in Impending Doom, Death Metal, Metalcore, CD Review, News

(6/10) It is difficult to describe the sound of Impending Doom. One thing is for sure. It has nothing to do with doom metal. The band from California plays a mix of death metal, thrash metal and metal core. So it's quite extreme. But the band still grooves very much. This shows that the band also has some roots in modern metal. The groove and the rhythm of some songs reminds me to Fear Factory and Slipknot, just with some growls. For me it's exactly that mix of styles which I don't really like. It seems that the band is still searching which direction they want to go.

To mention specific songs is not really fair. They all are OK, bit there is no real highlight on the album. And I also have to admit, that it was tough to listen through the entire album. Halfway I thought: I've heard it now.

I don't want to say that the album is bad. That would not be fair. But the album is also no highlight. For fans of the band a must, for metal core fans something to check out.



  1. Ravenous disease
  2. Death will reign
  3. Beyond the grave
  4. My own maker
  5. Doomsday
  6. Rip, tear and burn
  7. Hellhole
  8. My blood
  9. Endless
  10. Live or die
  11. The great divine

Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Gerne: Metalcore

CD review IMPENDING DOOM "Death will reign"