Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review EUROPE "Live at Sweden Rock"

Veröffentlicht am 13. November 2013 von Markus W. in Europe, Hardrock, CD Review, News

(8/10) Unbelievable, but Europe is already 30 years in business. Time flies if you have fun. And, with a few exceptions, those years with Europe have been fun. I can remember the days in the eighties, when the band had a great debut album and the awesome “Wings of tomorrow”, before they became famous with “The final countdown”. I think that the magic of Europe is the combination of voice and stage performance of Joey Tempest combined with the creativity of John Norum. This should not be seen as disrespectful to the other band members, since they create the foundation for the sound in an excellent way, but it’s the icons of Europe. This also became obvious again when the band had their comeback in 2004, after 8 years of radio silence. And they came back stronger than ever with a more mature sound.

Since the band had the 30th anniversary they decided to celebrate this with a special show on June 7 this year in their home country Sweden. They played at Sweden Rock, the biggest rock festival in the country and performed more than 2 hours (almost 3 hours). In front of around 30.000 people the band played a lot of old classics. Even “Seven doors hotel” and “Paradize Bay” from the debut made it on the setlist. But also “Scream of anger” and “Wings of tomorrow” from the second record. The band combined those with new material, which includes my favorite “Not supposed to sing the blues”. I just love this song. And last but not least there are the biggest hits of the band. Europe can’t leave the stage without “Carrie” and “The final countdown”. The good things with those two songs is, that the band plays them much more rocking these days. Also to mention are the guests. Scott Gorham e.g. performed with Europe the Thin Lizzy classic “Jailbreak”. Cool stuff.

The sound of the album is of course perfect, but not polished. It sounds real and like a good party, which the band celebrated with the big crowd.

“Live at Sweden Rock” became a timeless live document of a band with fantastic songs. It is a perfect collection for everybody and it shows again, that the band should not be reduced to the ‘burden’ called “The final countdown”. Europe is much more than that and I hope to see them in Holland soon again.





  1. Riches to rags
  2. Firebox
  3. Not supposed to sing the blues
  4. Scream of anger
  5. Superstitious
  6. No stone unturned
  7. New love in town
  8. In the future to come
  9. Paradize Bay
  10. Girl from Lebanon
  11. Prisoner in paradise
  12. Always the pretenders
  13. Drink and a smile
  14. Open your heart
  15. Love is not the enemy
  16. Sign of the times
  17. Sign from the dark
  18. Wings of tomorrow
  19. Carrie
  20. Jailbreak
  21. Seven doors hotel
  22. Drum solo
  23. The beast
  24. Let the good times rock
  25. Rock the night
  26. Last look at Eden
  27. The final countdown


Label: Edel Records

Genre: Hardrock

CD review EUROPE "Live at Sweden Rock"