Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SATURDAY OVERDOSE "Eat my dust" EP

Veröffentlicht am 15. Oktober 2013 von Markus W. in Saturday Overdose, Hardrock, CD Review

(7/10) A few days ago I posted a review about an Italian band called DangerEgo. Now I got another EP from an Italian band. They are called Saturday Overdose and they play hardrock/sleaze rock in the tradition of Motley Crue and Skid Row. The EP is called "Eat my dust" and comes via Street Symphonies.

The EP comes with 5 tracks. The first thing I have to say is, that the production is surprisingly good and that the musicians seem to know what they are doing. Esp. the singer called Bosco seems to be quite talented. The songwriting is kept more simple but creates a lot of good vibes. It is a good combination between harmonies and street rock'n'roll feeling. The songs have some edges and never become overdone.The opener "Free bones" is a good choice. Straight forward rough rocker with a lot of passion. There are two more of those songs on the album - "Falling part" and "Fucking mustang". For me the last mentioned one is actually the best track on the EP. There also two ballads on the records. The first one is "Don't care about the rain". I think this is easily said in Italy where the sun shines quite a lot. "Anthem for a dream" is the second ballad with passion and dedication.

A good EP with some good songs. I'm curious to see their development and if they also get a fanbase outside of Italy.

(7/10)

Tracklist:

  1. Free bones
  2. Don't care about the rain
  3. Fallin' apart
  4. Anthem for a dream
  5. Fucking mustang

Label: Street Symphonies

Genre: Sleaze rock

CD review SATURDAY OVERDOSE "Eat my dust" EP